12 women selected for NFF’s Diversity in Agriculture Leadership Program

Twelve women with diverse skills and experience, underpinned by a passion for leadership, have today been announced as the 2024 cohort of the National Farmers’ Federation’s (NFF) Diversity in Agriculture Leadership Program.

The mentoring and networking program is the NFF’s flagship initiative to fix the under representation of women in agriculture’s leadership ranks. It is made possible by 32 industry partners, who are making transformational inroads towards more gender-equal workplaces and leadership teams.

NFF President David Jochinke congratulated this year’s successful participants noting the high level of interest and exceptional applications made the selection process particularly difficult this year.

“The overwhelming interest in this program each year highlights the growing recognition of the importance of diversity and inclusion within agriculture. It’s inspiring to see so many talented women eager to step into leadership roles and contribute to the future of agriculture,” Mr Jochinke said.

The program is designed to support the NFF’s goal to double the number of women in agriculture’s leadership ranks and to make agriculture an inclusive industry for all by 2030.

“Our goal is to double the number of women in agriculture’s leadership ranks, and the Diversity in Agriculture Leadership Program is pivotal in achieving that,” Mr Jochinke said.

“With the program in its seventh year, the commitment and achievements of graduates so far have been remarkable, and we are confident this new cohort will continue to build on that legacy.”

The 2024 cohort join the program’s growing alumni network, bringing the total to 65 participants. The program has facilitated transformative change within the industry with many graduates stepping into executive level roles, accepting board positions, and being changemakers within their communities.

The group will come together in Canberra for an introductory retreat during June and then embark on a four-month mentoring program, before graduating in October.

2024 Diversity in Agriculture Leadership cohort

  • Amanda McClaren – Graytown, VIC
  • Angela Hammond – Inverell, NSW
  • Becky Dickinson- Warragul, VIC
  • Jennifer Brown – Mascot, NSW
  • Jenny Crema – South Mission Beach, QLD
  • Kelly Nankivell – Tintinara, SA
  • Lauren Langfield – Aberfoyle Park, SA
  • Madie Hamilton – Randwick, NSW
  • Meredith King – Milsons Point, NSW
  • Ming Fung Chua – Bayswater, WA
  • Sarah Stevens – Mareeba, QLD
  • Wendy Hick – Camooweal, QLD

/Public Release. View in full here.