2019 winners revealed

Celebrate Australian writing and explore this year’s #PMLitAwards winners and shortlists

The Prime Minister and Minister for the Arts Paul Fletcher today announced the winners of the 2019 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards at a ceremony at Parliament House.

2019 winners

Fiction: The Death of Noah Glass, Gail Jones, Text Publishing

Non-fiction: Half the Perfect World: Writers, Dreamers and Drifters on Hydra, 1955-1964, Paul Genoni and Tanya Dalziell, Monash University Press

Australian history: The Bible in Australia: A Cultural History, Meredith Lake, NewSouth Publishing

Poetry: Sun Music: New and Selected Poems, Judith Beveridge, Giramondo Press

Children’s literature: His Name Was Walter, Emily Rodda, Angus & Robertson

Young adult literature: The Things That Will Not Stand, Michael Gerard Bauer, Omnibus Books

Discover more with augmented reality

Using your phone or tablet activate the augmented reality experience and discover more about this year’s winners.

  • Go to pmla.awe.io and allow access to your camera.
  • Grab a hardcopy or image of the book cover and tap ‘scan a book cover’. Hold it still until the scan is complete, then press ‘play video’.
  • You can also tap ‘explore’ and move your device around to find the 2019 showcase.
  • When the video is finished, choose the ‘explore more books’ button to see more content.

Celebrate and share the winners!

We’ve got social tiles, digital posters and videos ready for you to use. Visit our Resources page to download and share your favourite books and categories with your friends and followers. Don’t forget to include #PMLitAwards!

/Public Release. View in full here.