An innovative scholar who has made a distinctive contribution to teaching media theory and practice, a passionate leader renowned for mentoring the next generation of learning and teaching professionals, and a dedicated teacher committed to empowering young Indigenous people to embrace career paths in business are among the recipients of the 2023 Australian Awards for University Teaching.

The Australian University Teacher of the Year is Professor Zala Volcic from Monash University, and Edith Cowan University’s Emeritus Professor Denise Chalmers is the recipient of the Career Achievement Award.

Griffith University’s Associate Professor Kerry Bodle is the recipient of the Neville Bonner Award for Indigenous Education.

Universities Australia Chair Professor David Lloyd and Chief Executive Officer Luke Sheehy congratulated the 2023 recipients.

“Teachers have one of the most important jobs in the world, and universities simply couldn’t do what they do each year without them,” Professor Lloyd said.

“That’s why programs like the Australian Awards for University Teaching, which Universities Australia has been running since 2018, are so important.

“These awards recognise the most outstanding teachers and programs across the sector, celebrating university teachers at different stages in their careers, from early-career academics to those who have devoted a lifetime to learning and teaching.

“It’s a way we can acknowledge exceptional university programs and teachers, and say thank you for the commitment they display each and every day.”

“Teachers are endlessly creative people, constantly finding innovative ways to inspire and shape futures,” Mr Sheehy said.

“They do this because they care about setting students up for bright and successful careers, and with more jobs in the future requiring a university degree, we must continue to give them our full support.

“We congratulate this year’s winners and hope their example will inspire current and future leaders in education.

“Beyond these awards, we say thank you to all teachers across the country for leading by example with great tenacity and inspiring the lives of so many.”

The full list of 2023 recipients, and the awards presentation, can be viewed here.

/Public Release. View in full here.