2023 NSW Women of Year Awards finalists announced


Some of our state’s most inspiring women have been named as finalists in the 2023 NSW Women of the Year Awards today.

Minister for Women Bronnie Taylor said the 34 remarkable women and girls are making a significant impact across the board, from science to education, health, industry, culture and community.

“I’m always inspired by the calibre of women nominated for these awards and the outstanding contributions they are making in their communities across the state,” Mrs Taylor said.

“There were almost 400 nominations, showcasing incredible women from all walks of life who are championing positive change. These finalists are an inspiration to us all and it’s wonderful to see them getting the recognition they deserve.

“On behalf of NSW, I extend a massive congratulations to all the finalists. You are all incredible individuals who make enormous contributions to our communities.”

There are 7 award categories in the 2023 program, including the Premier’s Award for NSW Woman of the Year, which is selected from a pool of category winners.

The finalists are:

NSW Woman of Excellence Award

  • Dr Rebecca Deans – Randwick
  • Anne Dennis – Walgett
  • Arabella Gibson – Mosman
  • Unis Goh – Turramurra
  • Jodie Ward – Heathcote

NSW Aboriginal Woman of the Year Award

  • Natalie Ahmat – Gladesville
  • Debbie Barwick – Rutherford
  • Jodi Edwards – Flinders
  • Lynda Edwards – Narromine
  • Kirsty Hargraves – Dubbo
  • Naomi Moran – Lismore

Aware Super NSW Community Hero of the Year Award

  • Elly Bird – Lismore
  • Randa Habelrih – Maroubra
  • Mary Hollingworth – Glen Innes
  • Angela McCann OAM – Coolamon

NSW Minerals Council Regional Woman of the Year Award

  • Emma Bracken – Suffolk Park
  • Gayle Dunn – Ulladulla
  • Dannielle Pickford – Banora Point
  • Sally Rogers – Eatonsville

NSW Young Woman of the Year Award

  • Ashna Basu – Randwick
  • Chanel Contos – Sydney
  • Lua Pellegrini – Toongabbie
  • Daniya Syed – Oran Park
  • Jiahui Diana Zhang – Blacktown

Advocate for Children and Young People One to Watch Award

  • Abbie – Epping
  • Matilda Gibson – Cessnock
  • Jorja O’Brien – Young
  • Grace Salkeld – Garthowen
  • Jasmine Seidel – New Lambton Heights
  • Coralie Smith – Ulladulla
  • Haniya Syed – Oran Park
  • Penelope Towney – Corrimal
  • Lucy Trease – Alstonville
  • Audrey Wood – Mount Kuring-gai

Winners will be announced on Thursday 9 March at the 2023 NSW Women of the Year Awards Ceremony at the International Convention Centre, Sydney and livestreamed online. The awards are part of NSW Women’s Week, which runs from Monday 6 March to Sunday 12 March.

To read more about the awards and finalists, visit Women of the Year Awards page.

/Public Release. View in full here.