2024 Michael E. DeBakey Excellence In Research Awards

This year’s Michael E. DeBakey Excellence in Research Awards were given to six faculty members at Baylor College of Medicine in recognition of their outstanding published scientific contributions to clinical and basic science research over the past three years.

The recipients are Dr. Bing Zhang, Dr. Leonid Metelitsa, Dr. Maksim Mamonkin, Dr. Robert Atmar, Dr. Jeffrey C. Magee and Dr. Christine Beeton.

The award ceremony included a recorded message from Dr. Paul Klotman, Baylor president, CEO and executive dean, congratulating the group. He added their accomplishments exemplify the outstanding work across all mission of Baylor College of Medicine.

Each awardee, who gave a presentation on their most recent work, was introduced by Dr. Carolyn Smith, professor, dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and interim senior vice president and dean of research at Baylor. She described their significant contributions to their fields of study and how each discovery moves us towards improving human health and patient care.

The awards are named in honor of pioneering heart surgeon Dr. Michael DeBakey, the first president of Baylor College of Medicine, and sponsored by the DeBakey Medical Foundation. The DeBakey Medical Foundation was first established in 1961. Through his groundbreaking advancements in cardiovascular surgery, DeBakey impacted the lives of countless patients and established this organization to continue that momentum of innovation and advancing healthcare well into the future.

/Public Release. View in full here.