$33 million Disaster Recovery Funding Welcomed for Lithgow

Lithgow Council

Lithgow Council’s advocacy for improved processes for funding disaster recovery works is being heard. The Council recently received a payment of $33 million from the NSW State Government to fund current road and infrastructure damage claims submitted under the Disaster Recovery Program.

There are many disaster affected roads needing repair across the city. But the Council was limited in its ability to fund even the early-stage investigations and designs because it has limited available funds. The $33 million is an upfront payment and overcomes the Council’s cashflow problem. But the final solution is still some way off.

“Although the funding is greatly welcomed, the individual claims for each road must still, later, be processed and approved by the NSW Government before works can commence”, noted Lithgow Mayor, Maree Statham. “Lithgow is also competing with thirty other local government areas to have claims approved so the works can commence.”

“It is tremendously frustrating that the approvals process for the funding of these works is so complex and lengthy. We have good staff and local contractors. We just need the funding faster. I will continue to lobby on behalf of this city for a better solution because the delays can lead to more damage and, potentially, unsafe road conditions.”

In total 26 roads have been listed for Disaster Recovery Funding across the LGA including Wolgan Gap, Browns Gap and Megalong Valley. The $33 million funding is for claims submitted by the Council for the following roads.

  • Glen Alice Road – Glen Alice to Mt Marsden
  • Pipers Flat Road – Rydal Road to John Mackey Drive
  • Portland/Sunny Corner Road, Portland – Sloggetts Lane to Sunny Corner Road
  • Hartley Vale Road, Hartley Valley – Browns Gap Road to LGA Boundary
  • Mid Hartley Road, Hartley Valley – Browns Gap Road to Great Western Highway
  • Fields Road Hartley Vale – Browns Gap Road to Hartley Vale Road
  • Blackheath Creek Road, Hartley Valley – Cox’s River Road to Mill Creek Road.
  • Lowther Siding Road, Lowther – Jenolan Caves Road to Ganbenang.
  • Wolgan Road Lidsdale – Maddocks Lane to Council Waste Transfer Station.
  • Magpie Hollow Road, South Bowenfels – Great Western Highway to Rydal-Hampton Road.
  • Sodwalls Road, Sodwalls – Tarana to Rydal-Hampton Road.
  • Marsden Swamp Road – Landslip
  • Range Road – Pipers Flat Road to Great Western Highway
  • Wolgan Road, Wolgan Valley – Donkey Steps to Barton Creek Bridge
  • Dark Corner Road, (sealed section) – Cupitts Lane to Wattle Creek Road

Information and progress updates on the roads that are listed for funding under the State Governments Disaster Recovery Program can be found on Lithgow Council’s website www.council.lithgow.com under Key Projects.

/Public Release. View in full here.