All Sydney families to have access to co-ed public high schools from 2025


The NSW Government is continuing to deliver on its election commitment to ensure every family in NSW has the option of choosing a co-ed public high school, with thousands of families across Sydney set to benefit from next year.

Committed to during the election, the NSW Government has completed a review of intake areas in Sydney suburbs where students previously only had a single-sex public high school.

As a result, the intake boundaries of 20 co-educational high schools have been adjusted.

This review included extensive consultation with the community, staff and students from more than 120 schools and more than 300 parents and carers of students.

In adjusting intake areas, the Department of Education considered:

  • enrolment trends
  • public transport access, holding discussions with Transport for NSW
  • capacity of the co-educational high schools
  • student numbers across catchment areas

As demand for co-education continues to grow the NSW Government has also commenced work to ensure children in all intake areas outside of Sydney have a guaranteed option to attend a co-educational public high school by 2027.

The final intake areas and a summary of the community feedback can be found on the Department of Education website.

A full list of the single sex school intake areas which will have a guaranteed co-educational high school option by 2025 can be found below.

Deputy Premier and Minister for Education and Early Learning Prue Car said:

“The NSW Labor Government is delivering on its commitment to provide guaranteed access to co-educational high schools.

“There is growing interest in co-education, and no family should have to face leaving their local area to access a co-educational high school.

“These changes have been made in consultation with local communities to provide guaranteed access to coeducational high school education for the first time.”

Member for Summer Hill Jo Haylen said:

“For years, kids in Ashfield and Canterbury High School catchments have had no co-educational high school options.

“Life is co-ed, and parents and students should have access to a co-ed school option.

“Under our Government’s new boundaries, families across my electorate of Summer Hill will now have access to two brilliant co-educational high schools, Dulwich High School of Visual Arts and Design and Marrickville High School.

“Inner West families have been campaigning for this change for years, and today our Government is delivering on this important election commitment.”

Single sex school intake areas which will have a co-educational option by 2025:

  • Ashfield Boys High School
  • Auburn Girls High School
  • Bankstown Girls High School
  • Belmore Boys High School
  • Beverly Hills Girls High School
  • Burwood Girls High School
  • Birrong Boys High School
  • Birrong Girls High School
  • Canterbury Boys High School
  • Canterbury Girls High School
  • Granville Boys High School
  • Homebush Boys High School
  • James Cook Boys High School
  • Moorefield Girls High School
  • Punchbowl Boys High School
  • Strathfield Girls High School
  • Wiley Park Girls High School

/Public Release. View in full here.