AMA members recognised in King’s Birthday 2024 Honours List

The Australian Medical Association acknowledges the outstanding service of its members who have been recognised in the King’s Birthday 2024 Honours List.

The members have been honoured for their first-class contribution to Australia’s medical services, ranging from areas such as ophthalmology and anaesthesiology to GPs and medical services delivered to local communities.

AMA President Professor Steve Robson said the AMA congratulated its members for being recognised for their service, dedication and skill.

“All are worthy recipients and Australia has one of the best trained medical workforces in the world and continues to achieve outstanding health outcomes for the community,” he said.

“These Honours recognise doctors’ outstanding contributions to go above and beyond to serve their communities.”

Professor Robson noted that Dr John Gault, who was awarded an OAM for service to the community of Bendigo, had been an AMA member for 67 years.

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)

Dr Amanda Baric (Vic) – Significant service to anaesthesiology, pain medicine and tertiary education.

Professor Jacqueline Curtis (NSW) – Significant service to medicine, particularly mental health.

Professor Glen Anthony Gole (QLD) – Significant service to ophthalmology, to tertiary education, and to professional organisations.

Associate Professor Anthony Holley (Qld) – Significant service to intensive care and emergency medicine.

Associate Professor Carolyn Quadrio (NSW) – Significant service to psychiatry.

Associate Professor Christine Rodda (Vic) – Significant service to paediatric endocrinology and medical research.

Dr Diana Semmonds (NSW) – Significant service to ophthalmology and professional organisations.

Professor Daryl Williams (Vic) – Significant service to anaesthesiology and pain medicine.

Dr Beres Woodhead (QLD) – Significant service to general practice medicine, particularly in board leadership roles, and to the community.

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Dr Penny Browne (NSW) – Service to medicine as a GP.

Dr James Elder (Vic) – Service to medicine as an ophthalmologist.

Dr John Gault (Vic) – Service to the Bendigo community.

Public Service Medal (PSM)

Associate Professor Rex Pais Prabhu (Vic) – Outstanding public service to regional medical service

/Public Release. View in full here.