Assistance for flood-impacted Cabonne and Walgett shires

Department of Home Affairs

​​Joint media release with the Hon Steph Cooke MP

The local government areas (LGAs) of Cabonne and Walgett will receive joint Commonwealth-State disaster assistance following severe weather and flooding experienced in June and July.

This brings to 44 the total number of LGAs receiving assistance under the jointly funded Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Federal Minister for Emergency Management, Senator the Hon Murray Watt, said river system flooding resulting from the late June event has now impacted regions further inland.

“The rain may have stopped, but the impact continues as floodwaters make their way down the Barwon and Namoi river systems, leaving councils with major repair works to their road infrastructure,” Minister Watt said.

“We stand ready to extend the assistance we’ve already provided New South Wales as further needs are identified.”

New South Wales Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience and Minister for Flood Recovery Steph Cooke said significant recovery support will be required to support flood-affected individuals, families, farmers and business owners.

“The number of LGAs subject to a natural disaster declaration demonstrates the wide-reaching impact of the June-July flood event, stretching from Shoalhaven in the south to Kempsey in the north, and now extending as far as Cabonne and Walgett,” Ms Cooke said.

Disaster assistance available under the DRFA may include:

  • Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged (eligibility criteria apply);
  • Support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets;
  • Financial support for small businesses, not-for-profit organisations and primary producers; and
  • Freight subsidies for primary producers.

For information relating to financial assistance, small business support, replacing lost documents, Recovery Centre locations and more, please contact Service NSW on 13 77 88 or visit
NSW floods.

To apply for a concessional loan or primary producer grant, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit
NSW ​Rural Assistance Authority.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website.

/Public Release. View in full here.