Australia Day award nominations – now open

Nominations are now open for 2020 Australia Day Awards which celebrate outstanding achievers within the community that contribute to making Campaspe a wonderful place to live.

Mayor Cr Adrian Weston said the awards is an opportunity to turn the spotlight on to our unsung heroes who have significantly contributed to improving the lives of people within our community.

“The Australia Day Awards pays tribute to community organisations, individuals and events, celebrating commitment and the many achievements that have enriched the lives of others,” Cr Weston said.

Australia Day award winners are chosen from each of the five geographical areas of Echuca, Kyabram, Rochester, Rushworth, Tongala, across six categories…

  • Citizen of the Year (25 years or older)
  • Young Citizen of the Year (between 15 and 25 years)
  • Sportsperson of the Year (18 years or older)
  • Junior Sportsperson of the Year (18 years or younger)
  • Community Group/Event of the Year
  • Arts Person/Group of the Year (open to all ages and for arts in any capacity, eg. performing, visual, administration)

“Nominations can be made for individuals or groups who have made their mark in sport, coordinating an event, in the arts or youth development, community or disability services.”

“We are extremely fortunate to have so many committed people within our shire and I encourage residents to consider nominating someone who they believe goes above and beyond, making a positive difference in our community.” Cr Weston added.

Nomination forms can be downloaded from council’s website click here or can be collected from Campaspe Shire Customer Service Centres or from any of the Australia Day Committees in Echuca, Rochester, Tongala, Kyabram and Rushworth.

Nominations for the 2020 Australia Day Awards close Friday, 6 December 2019 and should be submitted to your local Australia Day committee as listed on the application form.

/Public Release. View in full here.