Council recognises CFA and emergency response partners 29 November


The outstanding work of the CFA and the Shire’s other emergency response partners has been acknowledged during Council’s CFA Appreciation Awards presentation this week.

Nillumbik’s 18 brigades and groups received a certificate of appreciation and a financial contribution for their ongoing service to the community at Tuesday night’s Council meeting. The total contribution by Council to Nillumbik’s brigades and groups is $49,000.

Mayor Ben Ramcharan presented these to representatives of the Nillumbik brigades and groups at the Council meeting.

The annual presentation is an opportunity for Council and the community to thank our emergency response partners and wish them well as we head into the fire season.

Cr Ramcharan said Council was committed to working with our emergency services personnel to support them to do what they do best; protecting lives and property, particularly with the recent declaration of an El Nino event.

“Volunteers are the backbone of our community, and that is certainly the case with our exceptional CFA volunteers,” Cr Ramcharan said.

“As we enter this bushfire season, on behalf of Nillumbik Shire Council, I would like to acknowledge and sincerely thank all our emergency service volunteers for the selfless and important work that they do.”

The recipients were:

  • Warren Rees, Captain – Arthurs Creek Fire Brigade
  • Michael Scroggie, Captain – Christmas Hills Fire Brigade
  • Noel Farmer, Captain – Diamond Creek Fire Brigade
  • Mark Gravell, Captain – District 14 Headquarters Brigade East
  • Robert Bury, Captain – Doreen Fire Brigade
  • Lizzy Wade, Secretary & Anthony Owen, 1st Lieutenant – Eltham Fire Brigade
  • Andy Knight, Captain – Hurstbridge Fire Brigade
  • Chris Fidler, 1st Lieutenant – Kangaroo Ground Fire Brigade
  • Paul Buck, 1st Lieutenant – Kinglake Fire Brigade
  • Trent Burriss, Captain – North Warrandyte Fire Brigade
  • Simon Wallace, Captain – Panton Hill Fire Brigade
  • David Rumble, Captain – Plenty Fire Brigade
  • Neville Stewart, Captain & Leigh Tronerud-McCarthy, 1st Lieutenant – Research Fire Brigade
  • Matthew Ryan, Captain – St Andrews Fire Brigade
  • Phil Miles, 4th Lieutenant – Wattle Glen Fire Brigade
  • Mark Gravell, Captain – Yarrambat Fire Brigade
  • Heather Scale, Secretary – Whittlesea Diamond Valley Group
  • Matthew Knight, Group Officer – Nillumbik Group

Preparing for and responding to emergencies is a year-round activity. Council is committed to working with the CFA and our other partners to ensure that our fire and emergency management arrangements meet the needs of our community.

For ongoing bushfire preparation tips on Council’s website

/Public Release. View in full here.