Disaster Assistance extended for Regional Queensland

Acting Minister for Police and Corrective Services and Minister for Fire and Emergency Services The Honourable Mark Furner

Disaster assistance is now available to seven more flooded local councils following extreme monsoonal rainfall and flooding across Regional Queensland.

Support has been approved through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) in the local government areas of Burke, Doomadgee, Lockhart River, Longreach, Mareeba, Mount Isa, and Townsville.

Federal Minister for Emergency Management Senator the Hon Murray Watt said this assistance will provide financial support for counter disaster operations aimed at public safety and the restoration of essential public assets such as roads and bridges to get the communities back on their feet.

“As flood waters have receded, we’ve acted swiftly to extend immediate financial support to affected councils,” Minister Watt said.

“The Commonwealth and Queensland Governments have worked closely over the past few weeks to support 26 councils across Queensland so they can get back on their feet sooner.”

Queensland Acting Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Mark Furner said today’s funding announcement will assist these councils with restoring damaged public infrastructure and alleviate the financial burden on these impacted communities.

“This January monsoonal rainfall has seen extensive flooding, damage to public infrastructure and road closures across Queensland, including the continued isolation of Burke and Doomadgee Shires,” Minister Furner said.

“It’s important Queensland communities know that all impacted local government areas are being supported, no matter how remote, with assistance to clean-up and recover.”

The jointly-funded DRFA assistance is available in the local government areas of Barcaldine, Barcoo, Boulia, Burdekin, Burke, Carpentaria, Cook, Croydon, Diamantina, Doomadgee, Etheridge, Kowanyama, Lockhart River, Longreach, Mackay, Mapoon, Mareeba, Mornington,Mount Isa, Napranum, Northern Peninsula Area, Palm Island, Pormpuraaw, Townsville, Whitsunday, and Winton.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au and the Queensland Reconstruction Authority’s website at www.qra.qld.gov.au.

/Public Release. View in full here.