Education sponsorship opening for nominations

Baw Baw Shire Council’s Education Sponsorship Program will open on 14 September, inviting eligible education providers to nominate outstanding students to receive a $250 scholarship.

Eligible education providers can nominate up to two students from year 9 to 12 or between 15 and 21 years old to receive a $250 cash award and certificate.

The sponsorship program aims to encourage students to pursue their preferred education pathway by supporting local education providers to offer an opportunity to acknowledge attributes and effort.

Nominees will be outstanding in two or more of these qualities:

  • Authentic
  • Pragmatic
  • Respectful
  • Optimistic
  • Supportive.

All students in mainstream, specialist or pathway education are eligible for nomination. Education providers may apply for a second award to recognise a student who is Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander and who demonstrates two or more of the qualities listed.

The following education providers are eligible to apply in 2020:

  • Chairo Christian College (Drouin campus)
  • Community College Gippsland (Warragul campus)
  • Drouin Secondary College
  • TAFE Gippsland (Warragul campus)
  • Lowanna College, Newborough
  • Marist-Sion College
  • Neerim District Secondary College
  • St Paul’s Anglican Grammar School
  • Trafalgar High School
  • Warragul and District Specialist School
  • Warragul Regional College

Education Sponsorship is a stream of Council’s Community Financial Assistance Program that has invested over $600,000 in 2019/20.

Applications can be made via the Council website between 14 September and 16 October 2020.

/Public Release. View in full here.