Elite female rugby league contracts confirmed for 2019

19 of the country’s leading female rugby league players have been awarded central contracts for 2019, as part of the NRL’s overall female pathways development program.

The list includes the likes of inaugural Female Golden Boot recipient, Isabelle Kelly, 2018 Dally M Female Player of the Year, Brittany Breayley, inaugural Holden Women’s Premiership winning captain, Ali Brigginshaw and Queensland Origin captain, Karina Brown.

NRL General Manager of the Women’s Elite Program, Tiffany Slater said players had been identified and offered contracts, based on their work on and off the field over several months.

“This is year two of a long-term, year-long calendar of women’s rugby league and we’re really pleased with the level of skill and commitment that our elite female athletes continue to demonstrate – particularly the 19 that have been rewarded with central contracts,” Ms Slater said.

“As our game continues to attract new levels of fans, coverage and commercial backing, I have no doubt that we will see a greater number of elite female athletes receiving increased levels of support and contracts.”

Contract benefits include individual and team coaching, wellbeing and education services and leadership and development training camps.

The full list of female players to receive NRL contracts is (in alphabetical order):

  • Kezie Apps
  • Chelsea Baker
  • Annette Brander
  • Brittany Breayley
  • Sam Bremner
  • Ali Brigginshaw
  • Karina Brown
  • Keeley Davis
  • Vanessa Foliaki
  • Tazmin Gray
  • Isabelle Kelly
  • Corban McGregor
  • Julia Robinson
  • Jessica Sergis
  • Hannah Southwell
  • Simaima Taufa
  • Zahara Temara
  • Meg Ward
  • Holli Wheeler

/NRL Public Release. View in full here.