Finalists Announced For Murrumbidgee Excellence Awards


The finalists for the 2024 Murrumbidgee Local Health District (MLHD) Excellence Awards have been announced.

There were 68 nominations received across seven team award categories and four individual award categories, which have now been narrowed down to just a few finalists in each category.

MLHD Chief Executive Jill Ludford said the Awards represent an opportunity to recognise and reward accomplishments of teams and individuals across the District.

“It’s a very exciting time for our organisation as we come together to recognise health staff who have gone above and beyond in their roles within the MLHD,” Ms Ludford said.

“We’ve seen such high quality and diverse nominations this year, the judging panels really have had a tough time determining the top three in each category.

“The Excellence Awards celebrate the achievements of staff and volunteers for their pursuit of excellence and commitment to improving the lives of patients.”

Winners will be announced at a gala presentation evening on Friday 14 June 2024.


Keeping People Healthy

  • Outreach Heart Failure Diagnostic Clinic
  • Public Health Beat the Bite engaging children and the community
  • Vape-Free Action Group to support young people

Digital Innovation

  • Dental Services Contact Centre Web Chat
  • New Dialectical Behaviour Therapy Model Provides Equity

Enhancing People & Culture

  • Collaboratively cascading performance goals
  • Henty MPS Excellence in Patient Care: Grow your own
  • International Recruitment Campaign – Attracting a mature workforce
  • Pharmacy Team – Improving staff retention through culture and innovation

Enriching Consumer Experience

  • Culcairn MPS – Fun, fitness and friendship at the gym
  • Monthly Pathology Traffic Light Consumer Tool
  • Alternative models for excellence in patient care

Exceptional Aboriginal Healthcare

  • Aboriginal led invitations and bras lift breast screen participation
  • Mandaang Guwu – Mental Health Team
  • Murundhu – I Live, I Breathe co-design

Patient Safety First

  • Dialysis Access Surveillance and Management
  • MLHD Palliative Care On Call Searching for Equity
  • Rapid Incident Reviews Quality Improvement project


  • Acute Coronary Syndrome Pathway Intervention Times
  • Longitudinal studies into consumer awareness of health services


Allied Health Staff Member of the Year

  • Amber McPherson – Social Worker, Wagga Wagga Base Hospital
  • Ellie Dickin – Speech Pathologist, Wagga Wagga Base Hospital
  • Maddison Fellowes – Rehabilitation Coordinator, Wagga Wagga Base Hospital

Nurse or Midwife of the Year

  • Kaitlyn Haran – Transitional Nurse Practitioner, Mental Health Services Wagga Wagga
  • Rachel Russell – Clinic Nurse Consultant Metabolic Obesity Service, MLHD
  • Stacey Casley – Rural Generalist Nurse Practitioner Coordinator, MLHD

Volunteer of the Year

  • Anne Wescott (Corowa LHC)
  • Lourene Liebenberg (Deniliquin LHAC)
  • Margaret King (Griffith LHAC)
  • Samara Franke (Mental Health Volunteer)

Staff Member of the Year

  • Kathleen Matthews – Senior Dental Officer, MLHD
  • Setchen Brimson – Manager Executive Services Communications, MLHD
  • Stephanie Dunstall – Palliative Care Nurse Educator, MLHD

/Public Release. View in full here.