Green Party releases initial candidate list for 2023 election

Green Party of Aotearoa New Zealand

The Green Party has released its initial list of candidates for the 2023 election, which will now inform the membership voting process.

“With more Green MPs, we can set the direction of the next government and take faster climate action, protect nature, and rebalance wealth so everyone has what they need to provide for their family,” says Green co-leader James Shaw.

“Since we first entered government five years ago, the Green Party has delivered change for people and the planet. I am proud of everything our MPs have achieved, but we all know the pace of change has been too slow.

“Now more than ever, Aotearoa needs a Government that will take bold action to build a cleaner, fairer climate friendly future where everyone can afford a warm home and food on the table.

“2023 will be one of the most consequential elections we have had in Aotearoa for decades. I am confident that with such a diverse, experienced group of Green Party candidates Aotearoa will elect the most progressive, climate focused Government we have ever had,” says James Shaw.

Co-leader Marama Davidson added:

“I am proud that the Green Party is heading into this year’s election with such an outstanding group of candidates. The more MPs we get elected, the stronger our voice will be, and the more we can do to protect the climate, restore nature, and build an Aotearoa that works for everyone.”

“The Green Party is a Te Tiriti-based political party and I’m proud to see this reflected so clearly in our initial list. Such a strong Māori voice will help us to make sure that the next government does more to uphold the Crown’s promise to guarantee tino rangatiratanga of tangata whenua over their whenua, kainga and taonga katoa.”

“I’ve had the pleasure of working alongside many of our candidates in Parliament over the past three years and welcome the fresh voices who will bring even bigger, bolder and more diverse ideas to the table.”

“2023 will be the best chance we ever had to elect a government that takes the necessary action to build a climate-friendly Aotearoa that works for everyone – and our initial list shows how strong the Green Party will be,” says Marama Davidson.

The Green Party’s initial list for the 2023 election is:

  1. Marama Davidson
  2. James Shaw
  3. Chlöe Swarbrick
  4. Dr Elizabeth Kerekere
  5. Julie Anne Genter
  6. Teanau Tuiono
  7. Ricardo Menéndez March
  8. Hūhana Lyndon
  9. Golriz Ghahraman
  10. Lan Pham
  11. Steve Abel
  12. Fa’anānā Efeso Collins
  13. Darleen Tana
  14. Kahurangi Carter
  15. Lawrence Xu-Nan
  16. Benjamin Doyle
  17. Francisco Hernandez
  18. Scott Willis
  19. Stephanie Rodgers
  20. Suveen Sanis Walgampola
  21. Gina Dao-McLay
  22. Celia Wade-Brown
  23. Reina Tuai Penney
  24. Mike Davidson
  25. David Kennedy
  26. Nick Ratcliffe
  27. Rochelle Francis
  28. Sapna Samant
  29. Dr Alec McNeil
  30. Richard Wesley
  31. Neelu Jennings
  32. Kair Lippiatt

/Public Release. View in full here.