Latest Appointments To Classification Board

Dept of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications

The Albanese Government has reappointed Ms Jennifer Marvello and appointed Ms Lauren Monaghan as members of the Classification Board.

The Classification Board makes classification decisions and provides advice about the content of films, computer games and certain publications to help Australians make informed choices about what they and their families watch, read and play.

Ms Jennifer Marvello has served on the Board since January 2020. She previously worked at the Commonwealth Attorney-General’s Department where she developed and delivered training to industry assessors making classification decisions. She has also trained Customs Officers in drug detection technologies, interpretation of x-ray images, and identification of prohibited imports and exports, particularly films and publications which had been, or were likely to be, Refused Classification.

Ms Lauren Monaghan is an experienced communications manager, having worked with the Parliament of New South Wales’ Department of the Legislative Council as well as in the private sector. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Media and Communications from Sydney University.

The Government has also confirmed Mr Dominique Irlinger’s appointment to the Classification Board on a full-time basis for the remainder of his current term. As announced on 13 January 2024, Mr Irlinger is currently serving as the Acting Deputy Director of the Board.

The Government acknowledges the service of outgoing member Mr Paul Tenison for his valuable contribution to the Board.

/Public Release. View in full here.