Localities to be assigned in Royal national park

The Department of Customer Service

The Geographical Names Board (GNB) has approved the creation of 11 new localities within the Royal National Park in the Sutherland local government area.

Acting Chair of the Geographical Names Board (GNB) Thomas Grinter said the NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS) made the proposal to improve the addresses of on-park buildings and ensure suburbs and boundaries were clear and easy to understand.

“Right now, Royal National Park is both a suburb and a national park reserve and the boundaries do not match each other,” Mr Grinter said.

“Creating these new localities will help to reduce confusion and narrow down locations within the larger reserve.”

The new localities to be assigned are Wattamolla, Marley, Palona, Garie, Bonnie Vale, Goarra, Jibbon, Yenabilli, Warumbul, Audley and Uloola.

The boundaries for the suburb of Lilyvale, in Wollongong Local Government Area, will also be amended as part of the changes.

Mr Grinter said the new localities would enable areas of the national park to be properly addressed while improving the safety of visitors and staff.

“Smaller more meaningful localities will allow for correct and efficient addresses to be assigned to on-park buildings,” Mr Grinter said.

“Creating the localities will not impact the rights or obligations associated with the reserve.”

As part of the review the GNB advertised the proposal and called for community feedback.

Following feedback received during the public consultation, the proposed address locality designations will be amended from suburb to locality.

After submissions were received and evaluated the proposal was approved.

The new address localities will be assigned on 24 June 2022.

/Public Release.