Mayor of Bland Shire Unanimously Elected as Deputy Chair of REROC


Last Friday, 27 October 2023, Mayor Brian Monaghan was unanimously elected to the position of Deputy Chair of the Riverina Eastern Regional Organisation of Councils (REROC) at its Annual General Meeting in Wagga Wagga.

The REROC is a strategic alliance of eight local government bodies located in the eastern Riverina region of NSW.

Originally formed in 1994, the aim of the organisation is to assist councils to operate more efficiently and effectively by working together. The intention of the organisation is to help councils achieve economies of scale and scope and present a better informed and representative voice for its members.

The REROC meets every second month, and each member council is represented by an elected person (generally the Mayor) and General Manager. REROC acts as a forum that allows member to present and implement projects using the joint pooling of staff, resources and expertise.

The members of REROC are the councils of Bland, Coolamon, Cootamundra-Gundagai, Greater Hume, Junee, Lockhart, and Temora as well as Goldenfields Water County Council.

General manager of Bland Shire Council, Grant Baker, says “this is a great opportunity for Brian and for Bland Shire Council to continue its advocacy work to government on behalf of our community in ensuring we get greater outcomes for both our community and that of Riverina residents and businesses.”

Mayor Brian Monaghan mirrored these sentiments, saying “It is a great honour to be appointed as Deputy Chair and I look forward to this new responsibility with the REROC.”

“It provides a great opportunity to continue to contribute and engage with such a productive and collaborative organisation.”

“This is an organisation that reflects the interests of all its members, and in turn creates outcomes that are best for our community. It is my intention within this new role to continue supporting this legacy of the REROC.”

/Public Release. View in full here.