Melbourne law firm partner named new Australian Lawyers Alliance national president


The new national president of the Australian Lawyers Alliance (ALA) is Melbourne law firm partner, Shaun Marcus.

In accepting leadership of the organisation, Shaun reaffirmed the ALA’s commitment to justice, fairness and protecting the rights of the individual.

“Our values and principles are relevant whether we are fighting for justice for someone injured on the road or in a workplace accident, a survivor of abuse, someone in immigration detention or a person living with disability,” said Mr Marcus.

“As we come close to marking 30 years of the ALA, our commitment to protecting and promoting common law rights is still as important as ever and there continues to be work for us to do.”

Mr Marcus is a partner at Arnold Dallas Mcpherson and an accredited personal injury specialist. He has instructed counsel in litigation before the Supreme Court, County Court and Magistrates’ Court and overseen thousands of personal injury law files, comprising no-fault and common law TAC, WorkCover, asbestos and public liability matters.

Through his work with the Law Institute of Victoria and the Australian Lawyers Alliance, Shaun has also made an extensive contribution to the reform of personal injury Laws in Victoria to better meet and serve claimants’ needs.

“I am extremely proud to be the president of the ALA and I look forward to continuing the significant policy work of my predecessor,” said Mr Marcus.

“We are just months from the most important referendum that we are likely to face in our lifetimes, and I am fully committed to doing everything that the ALA can to ensure the enshrining of a First Nations Voice to Parliament into our Constitution.”

Shaun takes over as national president from Sydney solicitor Genevieve Henderson from Slater and Gordon.

The ALA began in 1994 and was originally known as the Australian Plaintiff Lawyers Association. At any one time, ALA members represent at least 200,000 people around Australia. The organisation has had several well-known national presidents including Noor Blumer, Tom Goudkamp OAM, Greg Barns SC, Andrew Stone SC and Peter Semmler QC.

/Public Release. View in full here.