National Museum of Australia appointments

The Australian Government has appointed Mr Stephen Byron and reappointed Ms Maureen Plavsic as part-time members of the National Museum of Australia Council for three year terms.

Mr Byron has been the Chief Executive Officer of the Canberra Airport since 1998 and is currently the Chair of the Canberra Grammar School and a member of the Snow Foundation and Canberra Convention Bureau.

Mr Byron has previously held positions on the Tourism and Transport Forum and was a member of the Property Council of Australia’s ACT Division.

Mr Byron’s considerable management and commercial experience will greatly benefit the Council.

Ms Plavsic brings more than 30 years of media, marketing and advertising experience to the role as a former CEO and executive director of Seven Network Limited.

Ms Plavsic is currently a non-executive director of Bestest Foundation, a not-for-profit children’s charity. She has also served as a director of Pacific Brands and Macquarie Radio Network, a board member of Opera Australia and as a trustee of the National Gallery of Victoria.

The NMA preserves Australia’s social history, exploring key issues, people and events that have shaped the nation.

The NMA Council is responsible for the overall performance of the Museum, including setting the strategic direction and management objectives.

For more information about the National Museum of Australia visit:

/Public Release. View in full here.