New Board members appointed to protect Swan Canning Riverpark

  • New Chair, Deputy Chair and two members for Swan River Trust Board
  • David McFerran appointed Chair and Peter King is the new Deputy Chair
  • Board provides independent advice on protection of Swan Canning Riverpark

Environment Minister Reece Whitby has welcomed a new Chair, Deputy Chair and two members to the Swan River Trust Board.

David McFerran has been appointed Chair, replacing Hamish Beck who has served in the role for nine years. The former business manager at Development WA has extensive experience in land use planning, statutory and strategic planning as well as community consultation.

Continuing Board member Peter King is the new Deputy Chair. He has 35 years of experience across the government and private sector, encompassing large project management, State approvals processes and land use planning.

Penny O’Connor and Tracy Shea have also been appointed as Board members.

The Board provides independent, high-level strategic advice on the health and protection of the Swan Canning Riverpark to the State Government.

Other outgoing members include Dr Joanna Pearce, Vanessa Martin and Jo Wilkie. 

As stated by Environment Minister Reece Whitby:

“I’m pleased to welcome the new Board members and their invaluable experience. I look forward to seeing the significant contribution they’ll make to Perth’s popular waterways.

“I would like to acknowledge the outstanding service of the four outgoing members, particularly Hamish Beck who has chaired the Board for the past nine years.

“Our Government is committed to working with the Board to protect our iconic rivers, so we can ensure these natural assets are enjoyed for years to come.”

/Public Release. View in full here.