New member appointed to Environmental Protection Authority

  • Darren Walsh appointed to independent Environmental Protection Authority Board
  • Member’s five-year term begins in January
  • Environment Minister recognises achievements of outgoing member Dr Jenny Pope

Darren Walsh has been appointed to a five-year term with the independent Environmental Protection Authority (EPA).

Mr Walsh will join Chair Prof. Matthew Tonts, Deputy Chair Lee McIntosh, as well as members Prof. Fiona Haslam McKenzie and Hamish Beck in rounding out the EPA’s board.

EPA members are appointed by the Governor of Western Australia on the recommendation of the Minister for Environment.

Mr Walsh has significant environmental and planning experience, and was the Independent Appeals Convenor to the Minister for Environment between 2003 and 2006.

Mr Walsh will replace outgoing member Dr Jenny Pope on the EPA’s board.

Comments As put by Environment Minister Reece Whitby:

“Darren Walsh’s experience in environmental impact assessment, planning and policy will further strengthen the Environmental Protection Authority’s commitment to the long-term protection of Western Australia’s environment.

“His skillset, expertise and background will be an asset to the EPA going forward.

“I would like to thank Dr Jenny Pope for her service, and acknowledge her contribution to the protection of Western Australia’s environmental values.”

/Public Release. View in full here.