New Tasracing directors announced

Madeleine Ogilvie, Minister for Racing

Two new directors have been appointed to the Tasracing Board.

Ms Suzie Jacobson and Mr Steve Old will join the Board of Directors, bringing extensive and relevant experience to Board deliberations.

Ms Jacobson is a communication professional with more than 30 years in media management, marketing and strategic planning. She has been a Committee Member of the Tasmanian Racing Club since 2018 and is the Deputy Chair of the Choir of High Hopes, Hobart Inc.

Mr Old is the CEO of the Tasmanian Hospitality Association and is a highly experienced non-executive director. His current board positions include the Tasmania Jackjumpers in the National Basketball League and Visitor Experience Training.

Current Tasracing directors David Garnier and Michael Gordon have been re-appointed for a further three-year term.

Minister for Racing, Madeleine Ogilvie is pleased to announce the appointments of Mr Old and Ms Jacobson and wished them well in their positions.

The Tasmanian racing industry contributes close to $185 million to the Tasmanian economy and supports more than 1,500 FTE employees which is why it is so important that we have a Board that truly understands the industry.

“I also want to acknowledge retiring thoroughbred director Robyn Wishaw and commercial director Helen Galloway, and express my deep appreciation for their contributions to the racing industry,” Minister Ogilvie said.

“Both are highly regarded in their respective fields of expertise and made a significant contribution to the governance of Tasracing during their six-year tenure.”

/Public Release. View in full here.