Nominations open for 2020 AFSM

Nominations are now open for the Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM) as part of the 2021 Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Nominations open for 2020 AFSM

Each year CFA coordinates the AFSM award nominations on behalf of volunteers and staff.

Any CFA person can put forward a nomination for someone they know who deserves to be honoured.

Introduced in 1988, the medal is awarded twice a year in recognition of distinguished service by a member of an Australian fire service.

VFBV CEO Adam Barnett said the AFSM award honours the exceptional contribution members of the fire service make to protecting lives and property.

“The AFSM award recognises the contribution our people make in their communities, in Victoria, across Australia, and even internationally.

“I’d encourage everyone to take the opportunity to nominate someone who has shown distinguished service across the organisation.

“And while there is nothing ordinary about the exceptional work that all CFA members do every day of the week, the AFSM is about recognising those whose service is above and beyond the normal zealous and faithful discharge of normal or ordinary service, whether short term or prolonged.”

Previous CFA recipients include Gwynne Brennan, Ian Symons, Russell Pardew, Robin Parsons, Nicole Harvey and Peter Shaw.

Nominations close 1 November 2020. All nominations are strictly confidential

View the CFA Honours and Awards Nomination Guide on the CFA website.

You can also access the Honours and Awards Toolkit on the CFA Intranet.

/CFA News Release. View in full here.