Nominees announced for 2024 Women in Community Life Awards

The City of Greater Geelong in partnership with the Women in Community Life Advisory Committee (WiCLAC) is delighted to announce the nominees for the 2024 Women in Community Life Awards.

Awards across seven categories will be presented at the 2024 International Women’s Day event on Wednesday 8 March held at Wurriki Nyal, 137-149 Mercer St, Geelong.

The annual awards acknowledge the contribution women have made to the Greater Geelong community and in particular, the impact they have made to promote and advocate for the advancement of gender equality.

City of Greater Geelong Mayor Trent Sullivan

The nominations provide well-deserved recognition to the many women in Greater Geelong who have worked selflessly and made outstanding contributions to the community.

Councillor Melissa Cadwell, Chair of WiCLAC

The nominees are local role models who have made a positive impact on their community.

We thank the nominees for representing the interests and rights of women from all backgrounds in Geelong.

The 2024 award nominees are:

Women in Community Life Award for a First Nations Woman

Sponsored by Parliamentary Secretary for First Peoples & Member for Geelong, Christine Couzens

  • Nikki Stanley
  • Kiralee Hogema

Women in Community Life Award for Economic Empowerment

Sponsored by Women’s Health and Wellbeing Barwon South-West

  • Ching Ying Lee
  • Bridie Coughlin

Women in Community Life Award for Education

Sponsored by Soroptimist International of Geelong

  • Louise Larkin
  • Jasmine Kildea
  • Wendy Erickson
  • Julie Penfold
  • Helen Nicholls-Stary
  • Kathyrn Aston-Mourney
  • Kathy Taylor

Women in Community Life Award for Human Rights

Sponsored by Zonta Club of Geelong

  • Stephanie Yacoub
  • Renee Fiolet
  • Renée La Peyre
  • Amy Flint
  • Imogen O’Shannessy

Women in Community Life Award for Disability Rights

Sponsored by Barwon Health

  • Fiona Cormack
  • Christine Gutaskas
  • Lee Fox

Women in Community Life Award for Climate Action

Sponsored by Member for Bellarine, Alison Marchant

  • Yvonne Parker
  • Juliet Bao Ngoc Doling

Women in Community Life Award for Leadership in Women’s Health

Sponsored by GMHBA

  • Hayley Roy
  • Penny Taylor
  • Nat Oska
  • Dr Caitlyn Pring
  • Karen Todd
  • Holly Lewtas
  • Kat Stanley
  • Maree Bennett

To be eligible, the nominee must be a woman* living or working in the Greater Geelong region.

Tickets to the awards event on 8 March are limited. To secure your free ticket visit

Alternatively, you can watch the event live through this livestream link –

/Public Release. View in full here.