NSW Women of Year Award 2024 finalists announced


The NSW Government is today shining a spotlight on the outstanding contributions of women across the state with the announcement of the finalists of the NSW Women of the Year Awards 2024.

The awards celebrate the role models who challenge inequality, innovate and inspire.

Since 2012, the annual awards have recognised the women and girls whose determination, bravery, skill and passion have inspired their communities and others to achieve great things.

There are six award categories in the 2024 program, including the Premier’s NSW Woman of Excellence Award.

The NSW Women of the Year Awards recipients will be revealed at a ceremony on Thursday 7 March at the International Convention Centre, Sydney.

The awards are the centrepiece of NSW Women’s Week 2024, which will be held from Monday 4 March to Sunday 10 March.

NSW Premier Chris Minns said:

“On behalf of NSW, I congratulate all our finalists.

“You are incredible individuals who have made an enormous contribution to communities in every corner of our state.

“It’s particularly pleasing to see the breadth of work on display, which is representative of our wonderfully diverse and highly dedicated communities.”

Minister for Women Jodie Harrison said:

“I’m delighted to announce we had a record 420 nominations this year, each and every one showcasing the hard work, dedication and passion of women and girls across NSW.

“Women and girls are making a significant impact in advancing gender equality across different industries, from science to education, health, industry, culture and community.

“We want to continue to empower the next generation to be limitless in delivering positive changes through fortitude in their fields of expertise.

“We can only achieve this by shining a light on the contributions and achievements of women and giving them the recognition they truly deserve.”

The Women of the Year Awards 2024 finalists are:

Premier’s NSW Woman of Excellence

  • Prof. Clara Chow AM – Sydney
  • Jessica Hill – Sydney
  • Cara Varian – Sydney
  • Prof. Adriana Vergés – Sydney
  • Commissioner Carlene York APM – Wollongong

NSW Aboriginal Woman of the Year

  • Kylie Captain – South- West Sydney
  • Aliethea Cutmore – Northern Tablelands
  • Carly Stanley – Sydney
  • Dr. Casey Sullivan – Tamworth
  • Deborah Swan – Central Coast

NSW Community Hero

  • Seini Afeaki – Western Sydney
  • Farzana Farzana – Sydney
  • Monica Mudge – South Coast
  • Anna Noon – Lake Macquarie

Regional Woman of the Year

  • Dr. Skye Charry – Murrumbateman
  • Tsukasa Hiraoka – Bourke
  • Nicole Kiss OAM – Cowra
  • Theresa Mitchell – Tweed Heads
  • Rochelle Olsen – Dubbo

NSW Young Woman of the Year

  • Noor Azizah – Sydney
  • Darian Brooker – Southern Sydney
  • Shannon Fox – Wollongong
  • Kupakwashe Matangira – Lake Macquarie
  • Sarah Williams – Newcastle

Ones to Watch

  • Parisa Azad – South-West Sydney
  • Aarohi Bansal – Sydney
  • Gezel Bardossi – Sydney
  • Sophie Berude – Lake Macquarie
  • Lola Fotheringham – Sydney
  • Bronte Gibson – Hunter Valley
  • Matilda Gibson – Hunter Valley
  • Abbie Jane – Broken Hill
  • Salma Kareem – Sydney
  • Izabelle Kelly – Dubbo

The Local Women of the Year Awards is a separate program which runs alongside the Women of the Year Awards. The Local Woman of the Year Awards is an annual program that provides MPs with the opportunity to recognise and celebrate the contributions of a local woman in their electorate. Recipients of these awards will also be recognised at the Awards ceremony.

Read more about the awards and finalists

/Public Release. View in full here.