Prime Minister’s Literary Awards announces 2019 shortlists

You don’t read a great book, you encounter it and we’re all the better for it.

The Prime Minister and Minister for Arts Paul Fletcher today announced the shortlists for the 2019 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards.

With a mix of well-established and new Australian authors, this year’s entries will delight, challenge, inspire and even return you to childhood.

Celebrate Australian writing, take a moment to discover the 2019 shortlists and find out what the judges thought.

The categories for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards are:

  • Fiction
  • Non-fiction
  • Australian history
  • Poetry
  • Children’s literature
  • Young adult literature.

    Stay tuned for the winners announcement!

    Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and subscribe to our updates.

    /Public Release. View in full here.