Racing Queensland Board Appointments Announced

Minister for State Development and Infrastructure, Minister for Industrial Relations and Minister for Racing The Honourable Grace Grace
  • Racing Queensland Board reappointed with one new member
  • Chair’s tenure extended and new Deputy appointed
  • Seven member board represents diversity of experience

Racing Minister Grace Grace has welcomed the new Racing Queensland Board, which includes six reappointments and one new addition.

The Minister praised the board as having the vision and expertise to take racing in Queensland to a whole new level.

In a signal of continuity, Independent Chair Steve Wilson AM has been re-appointed for a one-year term, while Townsville-based Jane Seawright has been appointed as the Deputy Chair for a three-year term.

Gold Coast businesswoman Rebecca Frizelle OAM is the new addition to the board, bringing her expertise across business and sport to help grow the racing industry and deliver critical infrastructure projects.

The appointment replaces current board and non-industry member, Sharon Dawson, who had earlier indicated that she did not wish to be re-appointed.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Racing Grace Grace:

“The RQ board is made up of a group of individuals passionate about racing, with the commercial acumen, strategic vision and expertise to take racing to a whole new level.

“Steve Wilson AM and Dale Cartwright have been re-appointed for one year, to balance the need for Board continuity and coincide with the delivery of major infrastructure projects.

“This includes the redevelopment of the Gold Coast Turf Club, along with the establishment of the new world-class greyhound racing venue near Ipswich, The Q.

“This approach reflects Queensland Audit Office advice for all statutory Boards to review and refresh membership to maintain independence and generate new ideas and fresh perspectives.

“Rebecca Frizelle is an outstanding appointment to the Board and brings a diverse range of experiences as a leader across business, sport and academia to help grow the racing industry.”

Board Appointments – Racing Queensland

Non industry member and Chair: Steve Wilson AM (one year re-appointment)

Steve is the former Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of Wilson HTM Investment Group, one of Australia’s leading stockbroking, funds and wealth management firms. He has an honorary doctorate of philosophy and was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 2011 for services to the financial services sector and the community. He also has knowledge of the racing industry as a successful thoroughbred breeding syndicate member.

Greyhound Racing Industry member – Dale Cartwright (one-year appointment)

Dale is the past president of the Brisbane Greyhound Racing Club and was a committee member for six years. He was the past vice-president of the Brisbane Greyhound Racing Club and has been involved in greyhound racing for over 30 years. Dale chaired the meetings of the Queensland Greyhound Affiliation which dealt with industry and welfare issues in 2015.

Members to be appointed from 1 May 2024 – 30 April 2027

Non Industry member and Deputy Chair – Jane Seawright

Jane was appointed as a non-industry member from 1 May 2019 and holds a Bachelor of Laws, a Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Business (Marketing), and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is an experienced member of boards including as the current chairperson of TAFE Queensland and is a non-executive director of Netball Queensland, having previously been the Chairperson of Netball Queensland for five years.

Thoroughbred Racing Industry member – Graham Quirk

Graham has been the racing industry member for the thoroughbred code since 4 July 2019. In 1985. He was elected to Brisbane City Council, became Deputy Mayor in 2008, and served as Lord Mayor of Brisbane from 2011 until 2019. Mr Quirk is on the Board of Infrastructure Australia, and the Board of Governors of the International Institute of Business and Technology Australia. He recently led the independent review of Brisbane 2032 Olympic and Paralympic venue infrastructure. He has bred thoroughbred horses for nearly 20 years and owns or holds interests in several thoroughbred race horses.

Non Industry member – Christopher Edwards

Christopher was appointed as a non-industry member from 17 May 2021. He is a graduate of several Australian Institute of Company Directors’ programs including the Company Directors course and courses addressing strategy, risk, finance and governance. His history as a director on nine other public and private bodies shows a broad directorial background with emphases on infrastructure, and community health and wellbeing. He is a member of Aviation Australia, the Queensland Building and Construction Board and the Community Enterprise Queensland Board of Management.

Harness Racing Industry member – Jodie Jones

Jodie was appointed as a racing industry member (harness code). Her professional background is as an educator, currently working as the deputy principal at Karalee State School. She was nominated in her private capacity due to 35 years of experience in harness racing. Her husband and daughter are trainers of standardbred horses, and her daughter is also a successful harness driver. The harness racing sector is relatively small, with only five licensed clubs in Queensland and with 35 years of broad racing industry experience as well as her leadership experience in the education sector, she brings a wealth of industry and educational sector experience to the board.

New non-Industry member – Rebecca Frizelle OAM

Rebecca is the Deputy Chancellor of Griffith University and serves on the Board of Directors of the Organising Committee for the Brisbane 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games. She is the co-owner of the NRL Gold Coast Titans Rugby League Club and previously served as the club’s independent chair. She holds an extensive background in the automotive industry, previously holding the position of Chief Operating Officer of Frizelle Sunshine Automotive prior to her resignation in 2021. She is a director and former director of three other charitable organisations: LifeFlight Australia; the Audi Foundation; and BizRebuild. In 2020, she was awarded the Order of Australia medal (OAM) in recognition of her contributions to both the automotive industry and rugby league.

/Public Release. View in full here.