Register To Elect Next AMA Federal Council

Australian Medical Association

AMA members must register to vote for the next Federal Council by 11 July.

Voting for the next Federal Council is about to commence. To exercise your right to vote, you must register before 5pm AEST Thursday 11 July.

Every AMA member is eligible to vote to elect representatives of their practice and speciality groups, as well as up to three Ordinary Members to the Federal Council. The new Federal Council will take office from the conclusion of the AMA National Conference on 4 August 2024.

The following election will be for the following positions. For the positions that are not listed, there was only one nominee.

  1. Orthopaedic Surgeons
  2. Paediatricians
  3. Pathologists
  4. Physicians
  5. Psychiatrists
  6. Surgeons
  7. Practice Group – Doctors-in-Training
  8. Practice Group – General Practice
  9. Practice Group – Private Practice
  10. Practice Group – Public Hospital Doctors
  11. Practice Group – Rural Doctors
  12. Three Ordinary Members

Registration is required to vote. You can register to vote here. Registrations will close at 5pm AEST Thursday 11 July.

Voting instructions, candidate details and online ballots will be sent to registered voters for each Practice and Speciality groups and the three Ordinary Members in stages from Friday, 12 July. Each vote will be open for at least 48 hours, with all balloting concluded by 5pm AEST on Thursday, 18 July.

The results (including positions that were not contested) will be published on Friday, 19 July.

/AMA/AusMed News. View in full here.