Selfless Fundraiser In Running For Major Award

Stroke Foundation

A young survivor of stroke who has raised thousands of dollars for the Stroke Foundation has been named a finalist in the 2024 Stroke Awards.

Ryan Webber has been recognised in the Fundraiser of the Year category.

The 33-year-old personal trainer, who had a stroke in 2023, threw everything he had into his recovery, and has since become passionate about educating others.

Last year, Ryan hosted a fun run, as part of Stroke Foundation’s major annual fundraiser, Stride4Stroke. The team, Paragon Squad, smashed their fundraising goal, raising more than $14,000 to help prevent, treat and beat stroke.

The Stroke Awards celebrate the unsung heroes in our community who go above and beyond to improve the lives of Australians affected by stroke. This includes the survivors of stroke, carers, volunteers, fundraisers, health professional, researchers and members of the community.  

Stroke Foundation Chief Executive Officer, Dr Lisa Murphy congratulated Ryan on being named a finalist.

“Ryan is an absolute champion who demonstrated such a commitment to Stroke Foundation. The stroke community is stronger because of selfless people like Ryan, who know how devastating stroke can be,” Dr Murphy said.

“Ryan, with the help of his friends and family, was able to organise an amazing event, all while navigating his own recovery from stroke just six months earlier.

“Thanks to Ryan and his support crew, there are now hundreds of people who know about the signs of stroke, and ways they can lower their own stroke risk, his drive to ease the burden of stroke on other survivors and their families is to be admired.” 

The Fundraiser of the Year category recognises people who have gone above and beyond to raise awareness and funds for stroke in Australia.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on Friday, May 3. The finalists are:  

  • Ryan Webber – New South Wales
  • Tommy Quick – Victoria
  • Glenn Browne – Victoria

There are eight categories in total: Stroke Warrior, Improving Life After Stroke, Creative, Courage, First Nations Stroke Excellence, Fundraiser of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and President’s Achievement.  

The 2024 Stroke Awards are supported by Medtronic, Abbvie, Australian Physiotherapy Association (APA), Ipsen, , NAB, Precision Connect and Worrells.

/Public Release. View in full here.