Six regional towns vie for tidiest town awards

  • ​Regional WA towns recognised for tidy community efforts
  • Six Western Australian communities stretching from the State’s Great Southern to the North-West will compete to take home the top honour in the 50th Keep Australia Beautiful Council (KABC) Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards.

    Of the 45 entrants this year, with strong submissions across all seven award categories, 6 regional overall State-title finalists – Albany, Bunbury, Esperance, Greenbushes, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, and Port and South Hedland – have been selected after a visit by judges.

    The 50th anniversary of the Tidy Towns awards in 2019 provided a framework for communities to work together for the sustainability of WA’s regional towns.

    The State and category winners will be announced on 25 October 2019 at the Tidy Town Sustainable Communities Awards event in Perth.

    The Keep Australia Beautiful WA Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards are funded by the State Government through the Waste Avoidance and Resource Recovery Account, administered by the Waste Authority, and supported by the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation, Main Roads Western Australia and Tourism Western Australia.

    More information about the awards program and finalists visit

    Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards 2019 category finalists:

    • Litter Prevention & Waste Management – Albany, Bunbury, Cowaramup, Fitzroy Crossing, Kalbarri, Margaret River
    • Young Legends – Albany, Bunbury, Esperance, Port and South Hedland, Waroona, West Arthur
    • Heritage & Culture – Collie, Dumbleyung, Donnybrook, Greenbushes, Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Northam, Pinjarra
    • Environmental Sustainability – Albany, Bunbury, Cranbrook, Esperance, Greenbushes, Margaret River
    • Environmental Education – Augusta, Broome, Carnarvon, Martu Farm, Paraburdoo, Quairading
    • Community Action & Wellbeing – Bridgetown, Cunderdin, Imintji, Pinjarra, Port and South Hedland, West Arthur
    • General Appearance – Bunbury, Gascoyne Junction, Esperance, Exmouth, Shire of Manjimup, Nullagine

    As stated by Environment Minister Stephen Dawson:

    “I congratulate all entrants in this year’s awards for making positive environmental, social and economic changes and commend the diversity, reach and depth of the initiatives submitted for recognition in the iconic awards.

    “Projects to better manage litter, waste and recycling, conserve water and energy, and protect our natural habitats, all work towards a more sustainable future.”

    As stated by Keep Australia Beautiful Council WA Chair Michael Aspinall:

    “Along with a focus on the management of litter, our six State finalists demonstrated to judges their strong community engagement, cultural partnerships, innovation and environmental initiatives.

    “Judges have taken into consideration the diverse nature of projects entered, and the reports from the judges to communities, highlight the impact of these projects.”

    /Public Release. View in full here.