Willoughby City Council joins landmark renewable energy agreement

Willoughby City


Willoughby City Council, along with 24 other participating councils, has joined one of the largest renewable energy deals for local government that will see participating council’s retail electricity supplied by three NSW solar farms. The deal, announced today by the Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (SSROC), was brokered with electricity retailer, ZEN Energy Retail Pty Ltd. (ZEN Energy)

Worth approximately $180 million, the landmark retail electricity agreement will deliver over 214 gigawatt hours of electricity per year to 25 councils across NSW.

Willoughby City Council has opted for 100 per cent renewable energy under the agreement. This commitment will enable council to achieve operational net zero emissions by 2025, a goal set as part of Council’s Cities Race to Zero pledge in 2021.

Overall, 83 per cent of the councils’ total electricity supply will be covered by renewable energy from the Moree, Hillston and Nevertire Solar Farms, all located within NSW.

Under the agreement, electricity generated from solar will supply over 300 major council facilities, more than 210,000 streetlights and more than 3000 small sites managed by councils. The 25 participating councils collectively represent over 3 million people, which is almost 38 per cent of NSW population. The agreement commences in 2022 and runs to 2026 with an option to extend to 2030.

Mayor Tanya Taylor said “Council is proud to join with 24 other councils in this significant deal and commit to using 100 per cent renewable energy for our electricity. This represents a major step towards our goal to achieve net zero emissions across our operations by 2025.”

“Willoughby City Council is committed to sustainability and investing in initiatives that realise our community’s vision to be a green, liveable city. This landmark deal will have long-term and wide-reaching impact and support the renewable energy industry in NSW,” Mayor Taylor added.

The participating councils are: Bayside, Burwood, Campbelltown, Canada Bay, Canterbury-Bankstown, Fairfield, Georges River, Hornsby, Hunters Hill, Inner West, Ku-ring-gai, Lane Cove, Liverpool, Mosman, North Sydney, Parramatta, Port Stephens, Randwick, Ryde, Singleton, Sutherland, Tamworth, Waverley, Willoughby and Woollahra.

SSROC was advised by Sourced Energy, Next Energy, Allens and Procure Group.

/Public Release. View in full here.