Winners Of Climate Choices Business Awards

Australian Greens

Today, businesses from across the Canberra region were recognised for their sustainability achievements at the annual Climate Choices Business Awards.

Minister for Water, Energy and Emissions Reduction Shane Rattenbury said that the annual awards recognised some of the most innovative businesses in Canberra’s race to net-zero emissions.

“Businesses have a big part to play in realising Canberra’s energy transition and growing our city’s climate resilience,” said Minister Rattenbury.

“The Climate Choices Business Awards received high quality nominations from a diverse range of organisations. It is heartening to once again see the Canberra business community demonstrate their strong commitment to climate action and emissions reduction.

“The awards are one way of saying thanks to the people who are going above and beyond to make their business premises, processes and products more sustainable.

“Sometimes, making sustainable choices like upgrading to efficient electric appliances or installing EV chargers has an upfront cost. What these businesses are showing us is that the investment will pay off – for businesses and the community.

“Many of today’s award winners were able to make smart sustainability upgrades with the help of financial assistance and expert advice from the ACT Government’s Sustainable Business Program. I encourage other ACT businesses and organisations to contact the program to find out how they can improve sustainability and demonstrate climate leadership in their operations.

“I look forward to continuing to support ACT businesses that are leading the way and making changes to reduce emissions and improve sustainability,” said Minister Rattenbury.

The 2024 Climate Choices Business Award winners are:

Category Business/Event

Zero Emissions Early Movers Goodwin Aged Care Services

Energy Star Canberra Services Club

Waste Minimisation Les Bistronomes

Sustainable Event National Folk Festival

Sustainable Small Business of the Year Embassy of Belgium

Corporate Climate Leader Waves Carwash

Innovation Excellence GREN

Minister’s Award for Leadership Steven Blakemore

The Canberra Tradesmen’s Union Club (Dickson Tradies)

Photos and interviews with recipients are available on request.

/Public Release. View in full here.