Writers honoured in reception at Town Hall

Unidentified individual sitting in a field writing in a notebook

THE achievements of Tasmania’s writers have been acknowledged at a special reception at the Hobart Town Hall this week.

Hobart Lord Mayor Anna Reynolds, who hosted the reception, said that 2021 had been a year of exceptional achievement for Tasmanian writers.

“There must be some truth in the idea that creativity flourishes in beautiful environments,” Cr Reynolds said. “Or is it something in the water?

“Our writers are producing an astonishing diversity of work across multiple genres, building on a tradition that goes back to the earliest days of this city.”

Hobart – and Tasmania as a whole – has long been a heart of creative writing. Australia’s first book being published in Hobart in 1818, an account by Thomas Wells of the bushranger Michael Howe. The first novel and book of essays were also published in Hobart in 1831.

Opening in 1837, the Theatre Royal is Australia’s oldest continuing theatre, with a rich history of bringing literature to life.

“Hobart is a city that supports creativity and culture,” Cr Reynolds said. “Creativity is a way of life and creative people are attracted to Hobart as a place that brings out the best in us – where we can collaborate and learn from each other, where we can inspire and be inspired.”

Tasmania’s list of writing honours for 2021 include:

Robbie Arnott – The Rain Herron

Shortlisted in the Miles Franklin Awards 2021

2021 Age Book of the Year

Michael Bennett – War Against Smallpox

Short listed in the NSW Premier’s Prize

Christina Booth – One Careless Night

Picture Fiction award at 2020 Environment Award For Children’s Literature

Andrew Darby – Flight Lines

Prime Minister’s Literary Awards non-fiction short list 2021

Kate Kruimink – A Treacherous Country

Winner 2020 Vogel Literary Award

Shortlisted Prime Minister’s Literary Awards fiction 2021

Anne Morgan (author) and Lois Bury (author) – The Way of the Weedy Seadragon

Winner of the 2021 Whitley Award for the best Children’s Natural History Book

Cassandra Pybus – Truganini

State Library of NSW National Biography Award

Prime Minister’s Literary Awards non-fiction short list 2021

Henry Reynolds – Truth Telling

Short listed for Queensland Premiers Prize; and Australian Education Publishing Awards: winner of the Scholarly Non-Fiction Book of the Year; and selected as one of five books of the year for presentation to the Prime Minister by Grattan Institute

Daniel Sih – Space Maker – How to unwind and think clearly in the digital age

Winner of Australian Business Book of the Year Award 2021 (Best Personal Development Book)

Finalist of Australian Business Book of the Year Award 2021 (Best Technology Book)

Finalist of Australian Business Book of the Year Award 2021 (Best Business Book Cover)

Tim Slade – The Walnut Tree

Shortlisted for Disability Awards (Arts)

Lian Tanner – Ella and the Ocean

2020 winner of the Patrica Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature

Adam Thompson – Born into this

Shortlisted for the USQ Steele Rudd Award for a Short Story Collection and the 2021 Age Book of the Year Award

Richard Flanagan – The Living Sea of Waking Dreams

Shortlisted in the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2021

Pete Hay – Forgotten Corners: Essays in Search of an Island’s Soul

Winner 2021 Book of the Year (Small Press Network)

Nicola Ingram

Winner 2021 Emerging Tasmanian Aboriginal Writers Award

Amanda Lohrey – The Labyrinth

Shortlisted Prime Minister’s Literary Awards fiction 2021

Winner the Miles Franklin Award 2021

Heather Rose – Bruny

Shortlisted 2020 ABIA Fiction Book of the Year

/Public Release. View in full here.