Announcement of new Secretary of Department of Industry, Science and Resources

Prime Minister

I am pleased to announce I have recommended the Governor-General appoint Ms Meghan Quinn PSM as the new Secretary of the Department of Industry, Science and Resources.

Ms Quinn has had a distinguished career in both the public and private sector.

In the public sector, Ms Quinn has been focussed on the Commonwealth Treasury portfolio, undertaking a number of senior roles, including as Deputy Secretary of the Markets Group, and the Macroeconomic Group. She was also central to the preparation of the Australia in the Asian Century White Paper in 2012.

She has also worked for BHP and the Bank of England.

In 2009, Ms Quinn was awarded a Public Service Medal for outstanding public service in the development of climate change policy.

Ms Quinn’s five-year appointment will commence on 22 August 2022. I congratulate her on the appointment and look forward to working with her.

APS Departments and Secretaries as at 5 August 2022

Department of the Prime Minister and CabinetProf Glyn Davis AC
Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and ForestryMr Andrew Metcalfe AO
Attorney-General’s DepartmentMs Katherine Jones PSM
Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and WaterMr David Fredericks PSM
Department of DefenceMr Greg Moriarty
Department of EducationDr Michele Bruniges AM
Department of Employment and Workplace RelationsMs Natalie James
Department of FinanceMs Jenny Wilkinson PSM
Department of Foreign Affairs and TradeMs Jan Adams AO PSM
Department of Health and Aged CareProf Brendan Murphy AC
Department of Home AffairsMr Michael Pezzullo AO
Department of Industry, Science and ResourcesMs Meghan Quinn PSM [from 22 August 2022]
Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the ArtsMr Jim Betts
Department of Social ServicesMr Ray Griggs AO CSC
Department of the TreasuryDr Steven Kennedy PSM
Department of Veterans’ AffairsMs Elizabeth Cosson AM CSC
/Public Release. View in full here.