Australian Test squad for Domain Test Series against New Zealand

The National Selection Panel (NSP) has named the following 13-player Australian squad for the Domain three-Test Series against New Zealand.


Tim Paine (c) (Tasmania)

Joe Burns (Queensland)

Pat Cummins (vc) (New South Wales)

Josh Hazelwood (New South Wales)

Travis Head (vc) (South Australia)

Marnus Labuschagne (Queensland)

Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)

Michael Neser (Queensland)

James Pattinson (Victoria)

Steven Smith (New South Wales)

Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)

Matthew Wade (Tasmania)

David Warner (New South Wales)

National selector Trevor Hohns said: “As we said prior to the Pakistan Series we are striving to maintain a core group of players. The performance of the team against Pakistan was very impressive across all areas, while there is always some room to improve.

“David Warner has been in exceptional form with the bat. The support he received from Joe Burns in Brisbane and Marnus Labuschagne in Adelaide was exactly what we had been asking for from the top order. They delivered, setting up both matches in what was an outstanding all-round performance.

“We are backing the current batting line-up to continue their form across the next three Tests. Whilst not a part of this squad, Cameron Bancroft remains one of the standby players. Similarly, depending on conditions, we reserve the right to add a player to the squad at any time during the Series.

“Michael Neser and James Pattinson will continue as cover for Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood through the Series. Michael will play for Queensland against New South Wales in the Marsh Sheffield Shield game at the SCG, as James did last week for Victoria.”

Tim Paine captains the side with Pat Cummins and Travis Head his vice-captains. The Domain Test Series commences with the first Test at Perth Stadium from December 12-16.

Domain Test Series between Australia and New Zealand:

December 12-16: First Domain Test, Perth Stadium (d/n)

December 26-30: Second Domain Test, Melbourne Cricket Ground

January 3-7: Third Domain Test, Sydney Cricket Ground

/Public Release. View in full here.