Casey Design Excellence Awards 2022

The winners of the inaugural Casey Design Excellence Awards 2022 were announced last week at a special event held at Bunjil Place.

The evening was a celebration of the City of Casey’s best urban design, planning, architecture and landscape projects. This year’s winners’ list highlights the integral role the design and development industry plays in creating great places for our Casey communities.

Across five categories, a total of 11 projects were granted awards and commendations, drawn from a pool of 35 submissions. The recognitions were awarded by an awards jury panel comprised of independent multi-disciplinary experts who provided expert guidance in the design review of major projects and master plans, the appointment of architectural and design consultancies, assisted with design competitions, and provided post implementation reviews of strategic projects and buildings.

The City of Casey is the first metropolitan growth area council to establish a design excellence program. The Casey Design Excellence Program aims to support council’s vision to build a community where, by design, our people and environment thrive. The Casey Design Excellence Awards is one of the components of this program and sees a diverse range of design and development projects represented in the awards entries.

As one of the fastest growing local government areas in Australia, we are looking to build our future value on design excellence. These awards deliver valuable promotion and recognition for our local design and planning professionals, and the development industry. They also provide an opportunity for key partners in Casey’s design excellence journey to reflect on what they have achieved and the role they play in creating great places within Casey.

Council would like to thank and congratulate all the entrants, commendation recipients and winners in the following categories:

Great Places

Winner: Orana Park by Balcon Group, Balcon Group Pty Ltd; Designed by: Fitzgerald Frisby Landscape Architects (FFLA) Pty Ltd; Constructed by: LD Total Pty Ltd

Commendation: Circa 1886 by Pack

Commendation: Banjo Park at Smiths Lane by Mirvac. Commissioned by Mirvac; Designed by: ASPECT Studios

Residential Development

Winner: Humble House, R ARCHITECTURE

Commendation: Tree House, Architecture & Interior Design: R ARCHITECTURE; Builder: BLUFERN; Passivhaus designer: EVISSA, Passivhaus certifier: DETAIL GREEN, SIPS manufacturer: EVISSA; Window manufacturer: NEUFFER Germany

Commendation: Bloom Retirement Living, Architecture – CHT Architects; Interiors – SORA Interior; Commissioned by Luson

Non-Residential Development

Winner (unbuilt): Narre Warren North Mosque. Designed by: Jackson Clements Burrows Architects; Commissioned by Saarban Islamic Trust

Sustainability & Innovation in Design

Winner (unbuilt): Narre Warren North Mosque. Designed by: Jackson Clements Burrows Architects; Commissioned by Saarban Islamic Trust

Commendation (unbuilt): Minta Estate Shadeways. Designed by: Urban Edge Landscape Architects & Charlton Degg Engineering. Commissioned by: Stockland

Master Plan or Strategy

Winner: Hallam Road Urban Design Interface Study, Global South (Urban Design)

Commendation: St. Germaine Estate. Commissioned by Gill Family Corp; Designed by: ClarkeHopkinsClarke

Congratulations to all the winners and thanks to our Inaugural Awards Jury Panel – Jill Garner AM, Office of the Victorian Government Architect (OVGA); Shelley Penn AM, Shelley Penn Architect; Steve Thorne, Design Urban Pty Ltd and Simon McPherson, Global South for their time and support. Sincere thanks also to our special guest, Professor Rob Adams, Director Adams Pty Ltd and City Architect, City of Melbourne.

Pictured: Orana Park

/Public Release. View in full here.