Charitable Volunteer Recognised For Giving Back

Stroke Foundation

A Stroke Foundation volunteer who has educated hundreds of Tasmanians has been nominated as a finalist in the 2024 Stroke Awards.

John Stevens, from Cambridge, has been nominated in the Volunteer of the Year category.

Since his stroke in 2015, John has been dedicated to giving back to the community. He has been a StrokeSafe Speaker for more than five years, providing talks to a wide range of audiences, including First Nations communities, and in remote and regional areas, including Tasmania’s Central Highlands.

John has also lobbied local and federal politicians, and hand-delivered informative assets to the community. John is a former chair of the Premier’s Disability Advisory Council, and in 2023, was appointed by the Menzies Institute for Medical Research as the Inaugural Lived Experience Group Chair for the new Cardiovascular Research Flagship.

Stroke Foundation Chief Executive Officer, Dr Lisa Murphy applauded John on all he has achieved.

“John is an absolute asset to the Stroke Foundation. He works tirelessly to make sure more Tasmanians know about stroke, all while living with profound deafness,” Dr Murphy said.

“John delivers such engaging talks and is a great asset to our StrokeSafe program.

“Stroke Foundation would not be what it is today without the tireless work of our volunteers like John who give up their own free time to make people aware of their stroke risks.” 

The Stroke Awards celebrate the unsung heroes in our community who go above and beyond to improve the lives of Australians affected by stroke. This includes the survivors of stroke, carers, volunteers, fundraisers, health professionals and researchers and members of the community.  

The Volunteer of the Year category recognises those outstanding volunteers whose dedicated service has made a significant difference.    

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on Friday, May 3. The finalists for the Volunteer of the Year award are:

  • John Stevens – TAS 
  • Toni Arfaras – VIC 
  • Janet Weir – SA  

There are eight categories in total: Warrior, Improving Life After Stroke, Creative, Courage, First Nations Stroke Excellence, Fundraiser of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and President’s Achievement.   

  The 2024 Stroke Awards are supported by Abbvie, Australian Physiotherapy Association (APA), Ipsen, Medtronic, NAB, Precision Connect and Worrells.

/Public Release. View in full here.