Clean sweep for Queensland at Under 19 National Championships

Queensland and Queensland Metro have been respectively crowned the female and male 2021-22 Under 19 National Champions.

Female Under 19 National Championship Final

Queensland 7-273 def South Australia 142

Queensland were runaway winners in the female Under 19 National Championships Final after opener Georgia Voll’s century set up a comprehensive 131-run victory over South Australia.

The powerful right-hander struck 16 boundaries on her way to 121 and produced her best innings of the tournament when her side needed it most to claim Player of the Final honours.

Voll shared a match-shaping 161-run partnership with Ellie Johnston (50) to set Queensland on the course for victory.

When both fell in quick succession it triggered a collapse of 5-40, however Queensland still posted an imposing 7-273 first innings total.

South Australia’s chase struggled to gain momentum as the side regularly lost wickets, with Grace Parsons (3-34) and Bonnie Berry (2-26) the best of Queensland’s bowlers.

It was double delight for Queensland captain Charli Knott, who lifted the Betty Butcher Shield as the Championship winning captain before being named Player of the Championships.

Knott amassed 276 runs at an average of 69 through her seven matches to go with six wickets at an average of 14.17 to earn the Betty Wilson Medal.

Country Victoria was awarded the umpire voted Spirit of Cricket award.

Team of the Championships

  1. Phoebe Litchfield (ACT/NSW Country)
  2. Charli Knott (Queensland)
  3. Claire Moore (NSW Metro)
  4. Ella Hayward (Victoria Metro)
  5. Amy Smith (Tasmania)
  6. Claire McGuirk (ACT/NSW Country)
  7. Georgia Voll (Queensland)
  8. Caitlin Mair (wkt) (Queensland)
  9. Grace Parsons (Queensland)
  10. Maddison McGuigan (ACT/NSW Country)
  11. Ananaya Sharma (NSW Metro)
  12. Eleanor Larosa (South Australia)

Player of the Championships – Betty Wilson Medal

Charli Knott (Queensland)

Spirit of Cricket award

Victoria Country

Male Under 19 National Championship Final

QLD Metro 9-198 def NSW Metro 171

On a day where batters struggled to build momentum, Queensland Metro’s Stephan Muller scored a composed 74 secure his side the male Under 19 National Championships title.

After winning the toss and electing to bat, Queensland Metro slumped to 4-59 in the with the dangerous Noah McFadyen (13) back in the pavilion.

After a relatively quiet tournament to date, opener Muller patiently grinded the sole half century of the Final while wickets fell around him.

Following Muller’s departure, a late contribution from Tom Whitney (36 from 29 balls) set New South Wales Metro a competitive 198 to win.

In a frustrating run chase for NSW Metro, five top seven batters made a start and reached double figures, but only skipper Lachlan Shaw (38) was able to score higher than 24.

Whenever a partnership began to form for NSW Metro, Queensland Metro’s bowlers had the answers and were able to make a breakthrough.

A late partnership between Yianni Theodorakopoulos (24*) and Jack Nisbet (10) kept the door slightly ajar for NSW Metro, but any hope of victory was quickly extinguished when Aubrey Stockdale (3-21) took the final two wickets in four balls to wrap up the Final.

Muller was named the Player of the Final for his match-winning innings.

To cap an incredible week for the Queenslanders, skipper Noah McFadyen was named Player of the Championships.

McFadyen led the run scoring with 221 runs at an average of 44.20, along with three wickets, to make a decisive contribution in his side’s title win.

The NSW U17 team was presented the umpire voted Spirit of Cricket award.

Team of the Championships

  1. Zac McCabe (South Australia)
  2. Nivethan Radhakrishnan (Tasmania)
  3. Harjas Singh (NSW U17)
  4. Jagadeswara Koduru (Victoria Metro)
  5. Noah McFadyen (Queensland)
  6. Joel Davies (NSW Metro)
  7. Jai Lemire (Victoria Metro)
  8. Tom Menzies (Northern Territory)
  9. Aubrey Stockdale (Queensland)
  10. Max Birthistle (Victoria Metro)
  11. Jessie Wilmot (Tasmania)
  12. Jem Ryan (Queensland Country)

Player of the Championships

Noah McFadyen (Queensland Metro)

Player of the Final

Stephan Muller (Queensland Metro)

Spirit of Cricket Award

NSW U17s

/Public Release. View in full here.