Community Award Recipients Announced

The Mitchell Shire community welcomed new Australian citizens and announced Community Award recipients in a ceremony held in Wallan.

The annual Council event was hosted by the Wallan Neighbourhood House, who were selected after an expression of interest process.

The 2024 Mitchell Shire Community Award recipients are:

  • Citizen of the Year: Sergio Prado-Arnuero
  • Young Citizen of the Year: Kirsten Boehm
  • Community Event of the Year: Seymour Show ‘n’ Shine
  • Community Group of the Year: Tyaak Cemetery Trust
  • Access and Inclusion Champion: Mitchell Rangers Soccer Club
  • Sports Person of the Year: Peter Baxter
  • Arts and/or Culture Person of the Year: Rhonda Coates
  • Commendation awards: Carolyn Atkinson and Margrette Inness
/Public Release. View in full here.