Community recovery hubs open in Yeppoon and Noosaville following bushfires

Community recovery hubs will be opened by the Palaszczuk Government in Yeppoon and Noosaville tomorrow (12 November) to support people and communities in two of the areas hardest-hit by the current bushfires.

Communities Minister Coralee O’Rourke said local residents who have been affected by the bushfires can visit the hubs to find out about the supports available and arrange referrals, while eligible residents can apply for grants.

“Additional emotional and psychological support services and Emergency Hardship Assistance grants are now available for people in the worst-affected areas to support their recovery,” Mrs O’Rourke said.

“These grants, of up to $180 per person, to a maximum of $900 for a family of five or more, are a safety net for those who are directly impacted and cannot afford to meet the immediate, unexpected costs of replacing essential items, such as food, medication and clothing.

“We also have the Community Recovery Hotline on 1800 173 349, online portal and Self-Recovery app available for people to apply for grants and find information.

“People in these affected areas who have power or phones can use these channels for assistance without having to queue at the hub and disrupt their recovery efforts.

“However, we know some people might prefer face-to-face help to lodge applications, or seek information and support services, and that’s why we are opening these hubs tomorrow.”

The Community Recovery Hubs will be located at:

  • 11 James Street, Yeppoon – from 9am to 5pm daily; and
  • Noosaville Library,7 Wallace Drive, Noosaville – from 9am to 5pm daily.

The areas activated are:

  • Livingstone Shire Council area:

Targeted areas within the following localities:Adelaide Park, Barmaryee, Barmoya, Bondoola, Bungundarra, Byfield, Canal Creek, Cobraball, Farnborough, Greenlake, Inverness, Lake Mary, Maryvale, Mulara, Pacific Heights, Rossmoya, Sandringham, Wattlebank and Woodbury.

  • Noosa Shire Council area: Cooroibah, Noosa North Shore and Ringtail Creek.

    The following targeted streets in Tewantin:

– Noosa Banks Estate: Noosa Banks Drive, Tingara Court, Dirum Court, Cooroibah Crescent, Nugun Court, Kalbar Place

– Daintree Park Estate: Golfcourse Drive, Daintree Way, Homestead Drive, Leafhaven Drive, Appleby Lane and Feathertail Court.

Staff from other government agencies including Department of Housing and Public Works and non-government partners such as the Red Cross and Lifeline will also be on hand at the hubs to offer support to affected residents.

Other grants such the Essential Household Contents Grant and Structural Assistance Grant, which are income tested, are also available to eligible residents in these areas who are uninsured and have experienced certain loss or damage following this disaster.

The grants have been made available through jointly-funded Commonwealth/State-Disaster Relief Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

People who are experiencing hardship due to the bushfires can download and use the Self-recovery app, go to

/Public Release. View in full here.