Cr Chris Raeburn to lead as Mayor

At Council’s Tuesday, 17 November, Statutory meeting, the 2020-24 Council was officially sworn in, with Cr Melanie Likos from Lake Nagambie ward elected to the position of Deputy Mayor.

Council also decided against a two-year term for the positions of mayor and deputy mayor, maintaining the status quo and voting unanimously for one-year terms.

Cr Raeburn, who is the only returning councillor on the new-look Council, said he looks forward to working closely with the community.

“To me, it’s a great privilege to represent our Shire. I’ve lived here now for three-and-a-half years and it’s one of those places where you walk into and take it in – because it’s so beautiful,” Cr Raeburn said.

“All my life I’ve been heavily involved with community, from coaching sport to kids and working with people.

“I look forward to working with my fellow councillors, our staff and, of course, the community.

Because it’s the community where I get my inspiration from. It’s the community’s place and they’re the ones who tell me what we should be doing and shouldn’t.”

Cr Raeburn also paid tribute to his partner and community members for their support.

“There are a lot of people who have helped me immensely,” Cr Raeburn said.

Cr Raeburn joined Council in March this year after a by-election to fill a vacancy after the resignation of Kate Stothers.

Meanwhile, this will be the first term for Cr Likos, who said she is “truly honoured to be given this privilege to represent her community”.

Strathbogie Shire Chief Executive Officer, Julie Salmon, welcomed the new council and encouraged the community to continue to show their support.

Your Strathbogie Shire Council for 2020-24:

• Honeysuckle Creek ward: Cr Chris Raeburn (Mayor)

• Hughes Creek ward: Cr Paul Murray

• Lake Nagambie ward: Crs Melanie Likos (Deputy Mayor) and Reg Dickinson

• Mount Wombat ward: Cr Laura Binks

• Seven Creeks ward: Crs Kristy Hourigan and Sally Hayes-Burke

Cr Chris Raeburn

/Public Release. View in full here.