Cr Ross Ebbels elected for second term as Borough Mayor

Cr Ross Ebbels was elected unopposed as Mayor of the Borough of Queenscliffe during today’s Special Meeting of Council. This will be Cr Ebbels’ second term as Mayor, having just concluded his first term as Mayor of the previous Council.

“It certainly is a great honour to be elected Mayor for a second year, and I’d like to thank my fellow councillors for their support,” said Cr Ebbels. “I know all of the Councillors will work hard as a team to do the best for our community.”

In accepting the nomination, Cr Ebbels spoke of the importance of listening to the community, and valuing the importance of small projects as well as large ones. Cr Ebbels also thanked his family and close friends for their ongoing support.

Council also nominated Councillors to portfolios and committees during the meeting. Councillors were elected to portfolio responsibilities as follows:

  • Cr Donnie Grigau – Community Wellbeing
  • Cr Ross Ebbels – Local Economy
  • Cr Fleur Hewitt – Environmental Sustainability
  • Cr Michael Grout – Planning and Heritage
  • Cr Susan Salter – Governance and Performance

No Deputy Mayor was elected by Council. A full list of Councillor responsibilities will be available on Council’s website in the coming days. Members of the public can watch a recording of today’s Special Meeting of Council on the Borough of Queenscliffe’s YouTube account.

/Public Release. View in full here.