Cricket Victoria celebrates 50-Year Volunteers

Cricket Victoria will hold it’s 50 Year Service Awards on Day Three of the 2019 Boxing Day Test against New Zealand. This is the 16th consecutive year of the awards, that look to highlight those who have contributed outstanding service as either a player, coach, official, administrator or volunteer of our great game.

Hosted in the historical Olympic Room, 30 recipients, who were nominated by their peers, receive a framed certificate signed by Cricket Australia CEO Kevin Roberts and Cricket Victoria CEO Andrew Ingleton to thank them for their contribution and commitment to cricket in Victoria.

Among those recognised is Michael Brettargh, who has given 65 years of outstanding service to St Barnabas Cricket Club. Michael has spent his entire career at St Barnabas CC, beginning in 1955. Michael enjoyed a decorated playing career which spanned close to 400 senior games and many junior games, as well as being a premiership player and premiership captain. He also spent over a decade on the club committee including a long stint as President.

Even though he has stopped playing, Michael makes the trip every Saturday by public transport from Ballarat to North Balwyn to watch his beloved club. He always makes sure he has a jacket, so he can go out and umpire. He helps out with scoring and assists with club duties in any way he can. He’s often described as a true gentleman, wonderful clubman and a cricket lover.

The Awards are a fantastic opportunity for Victoria Cricket to thank local heroes like Bill, that make community cricket possible.

Cricket Victoria would like to congratulate the 30 volunteers who thoroughly deserve their award for their tireless contribution to cricket for over 50 years:

NameClub/sYears of service
Russell Baldi


Numurkah Youth Club, Numurkah Youth CC50 years
Michael BrettarghSt Barnabas CC65 years
Robert ButlerHarrisfield CC, Parkfield CC60 years
John EdgarBurwood CC52 years
Malcolm FieldenBurwood CC51 years
Raymond FinnVictoria CC, Teachers’ CC, Buckley Park CC53 years
Ian FyfeBlackburn South CC55 years
Anthony GraceCamberwell CC50 years
Nick HamerSouth Croydon CC50 years
Ivo HavardWerribee CC50 years
Brian HedgerCamrea CC, East Preston YCW, Croxton Methodist CC, Riverside CC51 years
Peter HoganBonbeach CC, Chelsea YCW Junior Sporting Club50 years
Graeme HudsonCoburg CC, Broadmeadows CC, Preston CC, Taylors Lakes CC50 years
Julian HughesWashington CC, Glen Waverley Church of Christ CC, Eastern Umpires Association60 years
Lawrie JephcottCamrea CC53 years
Allan LoganWashington/Washington Park CC, SECA55 years
Ron LuffBurwood CC, Northcote CC, Hawthorn East CC53 years
Mark McInnesSpringvale CC50 years
Ian McRaeJung CC, Burwood Uniting Canterbury CC55 years
Mervyn MillerBlackburn South CC55 years
Ian PritchardBox Hill Methodists CC, Springvale CC, Leopold CC, Drysdale CC, Geelong Seniors CC, Geelong CC, Australian Over 60s53 years
Geoff StaffordHexham CC, Mortlake CC, South West Cricket Association57 years
Colin YoungBlackburn South CC51 years

/Public Release. View in full here.