Crs Ross Ebbels, Fleur Hewitt to lead Borough as Mayor and Deputy

Cr Ross Ebbels was elected unopposed as Mayor of the Borough of Queenscliffe at tonight’s Ordinary Meeting of Council, for a term of one year. This will be Cr Ebbels’ third consecutive term as the Borough’s Mayor.

“I’m honoured to have the support of my fellow Councillors in re-electing me as Mayor of the Borough of Queenscliffe,” said Cr Ebbels. “I’m looking forward to working with Councillors, officers and our community as we chart a course for recovery from the coronavirus pandemic.”

Cr Fleur Hewitt was also elected Deputy Mayor unopposed. The first-term Councillor said she was looking forward to working with Cr Ebbels over the coming year.

“I’m thrilled to have been appointed by this Council to the position of Deputy Mayor of the Borough,” Cr Hewitt said. “I can’t wait to support the Mayor as we move into a busy and exciting 2022.”

Council also nominated Councillors to portfolios and committees during the meeting. Councillors were elected to portfolio responsibilities as follows:

  • Cr Donnie Grigau – Health and Wellbeing
  • Cr Ross Ebbels – Local Economy
  • Cr Fleur Hewitt – Environment
  • Cr Michael Grout – Heritage, Planning and Infrastructure
  • Cr Susan Salter – Governance and Finance

A full list of Councillor responsibilities will be available on Council’s website in the coming days. Members of the public can watch a recording of tonight’s Ordinary Meeting of Council on the Borough of Queenscliffe’s YouTube account.

/Public Release. View in full here.