Experienced duo join South West Hospital and Health Board

Minister for Health and Ambulance Services The Honourable Yvette D'Ath

A Charleville resident, experienced board director and former country council Mayor, along with a retired army Brigadier have been appointed to the South West Hospital and Health Board.

Health and Ambulance Services Minister Yvette D’Ath said Mr Bruce Scott and retired Brigadier Christopher Hamilton would bring a broad range of experience and skills to the South West Hospital and Health Board.

She said Board Chair Karen Tully and current board member Claire Alexander also had been reappointed to the Board.

“I’d like to congratulate Ms Tully and Ms Alexander on their reappointments and welcome Mr Scott and Brigadier (retired) Hamilton to the board,” she said.

“Charleville resident Mr Scott is a former member of the Central West Hospital and Health Board from 2012 to 2016 and was Barcoo Shire Mayor on two separate occasions.

“He has also been a member, director and chair of numerous rural planning, development and disaster organisations.

“He continues to serve on a number of boards, including the Red Ridge Foundation, Foundation for Rural and Regional Renewal and National Drought and North Queensland Flood Response and Recovery Agency.

“In 2017, he was a recipient of the Order of Australia Medal for service to local government and the community of Barcoo Shire.”

Ms D’Ath said Brigadier Hamilton was a long-serving former army officer with a broad range of skills which had been transferred to the private sector following his retirement from the defence force.

“Brigadier Hamilton serves on the Premier’s Queensland Veterans Advisory Council and is Chief Executive Officer of RAPAD Employment Services,” she said.

“He has been involved in a number of agri-businesses and continues to act as Colonel Commandant of the North West Mobile Force and the Pilbara Regiment.

“Together, he and Mr Scott will bring a wealth of talent and experience to the South West Hospital and Health Board.

“I look forward to continuing to work with the board to ensure Queensland’s health system continues to thrive.”

The South West Hospital and Health Board’s members are:

  • Ms Karen Tully (Chair)
  • Ms Claire Alexander
  • Ms Jan Chambers
  • Mr Ray Chandler
  • Dr Mark Waters
  • Mrs Kerry Crumblin
  • Mr Bruce Scott OAM
  • Brigadier Christopher Hamilton (Retired)

The 16 boards throughout Queensland are responsible under the Hospital and Health Boards Act 2011 for local performance of their health service and the delivery of public health services within their communities.

/Public Release. View in full here.