HKUST Holds Seventh Inauguration Ceremony of Named Professorships

Group Photo
A group photo of HKUST Pro-Chancellor Dr. John CHAN Cho-Chak (front row, fifth left), HKUST President Prof. Nancy IP (front row, sixth left), other HKUST senior management, donors, representatives of corporate sponsors and named professors.

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) held the seventh inauguration ceremony of named professorships today to honor 10 outstanding faculty members and their donors. Officiating at the ceremony was HKUST Pro-Chancellor Dr. John CHAN Cho-Chak.

HKUST Council Chairman Prof. Harry SHUM said, “The recipients of this year’s Named Professorships have each made a significant impact on society through their research. They have contributed to HKUST’s continuous strive for excellence to make positive impacts to mankind. Our ability to honor this year’s inductees is founded upon the limitless kindness of our donors. We express our deepest appreciation for their ongoing support for HKUST’s mission, which allows us to provide an environment in which excellence can thrive.”

HKUST President Prof. Nancy IP congratulated the appointed faculty members and thanked the donors’ generosity. “For the last decade, HKUST has proudly bestowed the title of Named Professor on over 70 faculty whose teaching and research achievements are worthy of the highest commendation. These scholars have excelled in both academic and pedagogical pursuits, exerting significant influence in various fields of study worldwide while also dedicating themselves to nurturing the next generation. We sincerely thank our generous donors for their support, which enables us to commend, reward, and attract academic leaders from diverse fields, working together with the university to reach new heights and contribute to society,” she said.

The expertise of the 10 named professors covers a wide spectrum of research areas including neuroscience, fluid mechanics, machine learning, condensed matter physics, macromolecular chemistry, electrochemistry, integrated circuits, network economics, macroeconomics, as well as social theories.

The professorships were made possible by generous donations rendered to HKUST from long-standing contributors to higher education. They are (in alphabetical order of surnames and the first letter of company names): Crown Worldwide Group, Mr. Richard ELMAN, Fang Brothers Holdings Limited, Dr. the Hon. Hari HARILELA, Lo Ka Chung Charitable Foundation, Dr. Tai-Chin LO, Prosnav Holding Limited, Stephen Kam Chuen Cheong Education Fund and an anonymous contributor.

Among the officiating guests at the Inauguration Ceremony were HKUST Pro-Chancellor Dr. John Chan Cho-Chak, President Prof. Nancy Ip and other senior management. Donors and their representatives also attended the ceremony, including (in alphabetical order of surnames) Mr. Anthony CHEONG, Prof. Paul CHEUNG, Mr. Douglas FANG, Dr. Aron HARILELA, Mr. Peter LO, Dr. Tai-Chin Lo, and Dr. James THOMPSON.

The named professors are:

Lo Ka Chung Charitable Foundation Professor of Science

Prof. Guojun BU, School of Science

Stephen Kam Chuen Cheong Professor of Science

Prof. Kun XU, School of Science

Dr. Tai-chin Lo Associate Professor of Science

Prof. Can YANG, School of Science

Hari Harilela Assistant Professor of Physics

Prof. Adrian Hoi-Chun PO, School of Science

Distinguished Visiting Professor

Prof. Ben Zhong TANG, School of Science

Cheong Ying Chan Professor of Energy Engineering and Environment

Prof. Minhua SHAO, School of Engineering

Fang Professor of Engineering

Prof. Yuan XIE, School of Engineering

Crown Worldwide Professor of Business

Prof. Ying-Ju CHEN, School of Business and Management

Liwei Huang Associate Professor of Business

Prof. Yan JI, School of Business and Management

Elman Family Visiting Professor of Jewish and Israeli Studies

Prof. Gad YAIR, School of Humanities and Social Science

/Public Release. View in full here.