Inaugural Climate Cartoon award winner announced

CARTOONIST MEGAN HERBERT has taken home the inaugural climate award at the Australian Cartoonists Association Stanley Awards.

With support from the Climate Council, the new climate award category was created after cartoonists boycotted the Walkley Awards in August. High profile cartoonists pulled out of the awards because of the Walkley’s sponsorship by fossil fuel giant Ampol.

Megan Herbert’s cartoon was hand picked by the Australian Cartoonists Association as one of the top 20 climate-themed cartoons of the year, and later selected as one of six finalists for the climate award category.

Climate Council CEO Amanda McKenzie said: “Megan Herbert’s cartoon is a standout amid powerful depictions of the climate crisis. It shows the domino effect of coal mine approvals on our lives and paints a clear and confronting picture for Australians. More than that, Megan’s cartoon compels the public to do everything within their power to stop these polluting projects from going ahead – or risk losing so many of the systems we rely on.

“The Walkley boycott showed that Australian cartoonists care deeply about the climate crisis. We saw this reflected powerfully across the climate award category.

“I want to thank all of the cartoonists who champion climate action through their work. Your courage and creativity will continue to shape the climate conversation.

/Public Release. View in full here.