National Community Cricket Award finalists 2021-22

Cricket Australia is delighted to announce the finalists in the annual National Community Cricket Awards.

The awards celebrate the vast contribution of volunteers as well as the many ground-breaking programs and initiatives that have helped enhance the experience of players across Australia.

The two finalists in 13 categories have all displayed excellence in fields ranging from administration to coaching to leadership and left a lasting impression in their areas.

Staged during National Volunteer Week, the awards will be streamed on Cricket Australia’s Facebook and Youtube on May 19 from 7pm EST.

The finalist are:

Community Coach of the Year

A coach who exemplifies coaching the Australian way. Someone who has gone out of their way to make sure that participants are supported to develop both their skills and a lifelong love of cricket.


Andrew Watson (QLD)

Ian Kenny (SA)

Women and Girls Initiative of the Year

Celebrating the outstanding delivery of female-based experiences by finding clever or innovative ways to engage and grow their program.


West Pennant Hills Cherrybrook Cricket Club (NSW)

Tassie Superstars (Women’s Team) (TAS)

Community Cricket Club of the Year

A community cricket club that actively creates welcoming environments and seeks to create sustainable participation and growth through good governance, volunteer support and inclusive on field programs.


Bega Angledale Cricket Club (NSW/ACT)

Warwick Greenwood Cricket Club (WA)

Community Cricket Association of the Year

A cricket association that actively works to create sustainable competition that provides opportunities for everyone to have the chance to play cricket.


Colac & District Cricket Association (VIC)

Barossa & Light Cricket Association (SA)

Inclusion and Diversity Initiative of the Year

Acknowledging the outstanding delivery of diverse and inclusive experiences by finding clever and innovative ways to engage and grow offerings.


Mechelle Hare (NSW)

Morphettville Park Cricket Club (SA)

Indoor Facility of the Year

An indoor facility that embraces the connection with the community and cricket to provide the best program experience to its participants.


Mega Courts Indoor Sports (SA)

Box Hill Action Indoor Sports (VIC)

Junior Initiative of the Year

Acknowledging the outstanding delivery of junior cricket experiences by finding clever and innovative ways to engage and grow junior offerings with a focus on education, fun and social connection.


Herbert River Cricket Club (QLD)

Wynyard Cricket Club (TAS)

Community Match Official of the Year

An umpire or match official (such as a scorer) who leads by example in championing safe, fair, and enjoyable cricket for all.


Darrell Holt (VIC)

Greg Payne (QLD)

Partnership of the Year

Outstanding leadership and support in building community-based partnerships that provide positive outcomes to the cricket community.


Townsville Western Suburbs + Garbutt Magpies (QLD)

Blind Cricket Tasmania (TAS)

Technology and Media Initiative of the Year

An individual, club or association who has used technology to create connection to its members, whether by reducing volunteer time, connecting members through social media, or enhancing participant experience.


Aaron Hagenbach (NSW/ACT)

WA Cricket Board (WA)

Young Leader of the Year

A young person, under the age of 25, who positively impacts those around them through their off-field leadership in volunteering.


Ellie Campbell (VIC)

Neel Kalia (WA)

Celebrating Cricket in Schools

Celebrating the connection between schools, students and the broader cricket community.


Wayne Shultz (VIC)

Katie Liebelt (SA)

Volunteer of the Year

A volunteer who demonstrates their active involvement within their club through creating opportunity for all members, players, and families to feel supported and included.


Sandra Hagerty (WA)

Nicole Williams (SA)

/Public Release. View in full here.